Hungarian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
We like this and I make it occasionally. I like the fact it uses things I have usually have on hand. One thing I do differently is first I saute some sliced onions, removing them before I brown the pork chops. Then return them with the sauce. I also add some garlic along with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have any bay leaf, so I added a bit of dill because I thought it needed an herb. I also added more paprika than the recipe called for. I had 2" thick boneless pork chops so I needed to turn them during the cooking time so the sauce would coat them. I also used the leftover sauce to put on my egg noodles. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I used less ketchup, white wine, and much more paprika and the taste of this dish was excellent, however the appearance was not as good. I think it might be a good idea to put the chops into some egg yolk before dipping into flour because as soon as I cooked it, the breading came off in clean chunks, so the end result looked like meat with chunky orangy stuff (and you can use your imagination to picture what that looks like on a plate). Good taste, horrible presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Missouri, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Delicious. I cut back a bit on the ketchup, used dry vermouth instead of sherry, heavy cream instead of sour cream (started cooking without looking carefully at what I had in the store cupboard), cooked it for about 30 minutes and it was great. My husband said it was probably the best pork chop recipe he has eaten in ages
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was ok I guess... don't think I will make again. Tasted like ketchup with pork chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I thought this recipe was a nice change from the way I normally fix pork chops. The smell was fabulous and as it cooked, I had a glass of sherry. I served it over wide noodles with a green salad on the side. Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIDGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This is Hungarian only if you have no idea about Hungarian cooking... anything Hungarian would have tons and tons of paprika, and probably nothing tomato based. However this was tasty enough, if a bit too sweet with the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
YUMMY! First of all let me say that I heeded the warnings and used less ketchup, cooked it less time, and put the sour cream in at the last 5 minutes. Also, I sauteed some onion and garlic with the pork chops, I used hot Hungarian paprika, and increased the amounts of worchestershire sauce. This was excellent! Contrary to others, this smelled great and I served it over egg noodles. I will definitely make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I agree that the cooking time is way too long. I browned the pork chops with some onion which was good and only cooked it covered about 30 minutes. And, even though I cooked this on very low heat, the sour cream sauce looked like it was separating. I wasn't that crazy about the taste so I don't think I would make this again, but if I did, I would put the sour cream in right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Liked this a lot but I think the cook time is way too long. I cooked for about 35-40 minutes and it was still too long. I followed the directions but added 1 tsp of hot hungarian paprika along with 1/4 tsp. sweet paprika to give it a little kick. The sauce was so good. Served it with Homemade Wonderful Bread from this site and served over German spaetzle. We thought it smelled wonderful as it was cooking. Will definetly make again. Thanks Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States