Hungarian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Absolutely Delicious! I was out of Sherry and used 1/4 water seasoned with 2t chicken base & 1t mushroom base, garlic and a dash of red pepper flakes. It was the best pork chops we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I make this recipe regularly, the family loves it. I follow the recipe as it is, but cut the simmer time down to a half hour, an hour is just too long. I serve with egg noodles and seasoned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMSWEB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I thought this was very good, but I, as did others, tweaked it. I used thick bone in pork chops, because they tend not to dry out. I browned the pork chops, removed them and sauteed 1 carton of baby bella mushrooms and 1 medium onion, which I sliced thin. I then added the pork chops again. I used 1/2 cup cream, 8 oz sour cream, 1/2 good sherry (not cooking), 1/8 cup ketchup, 1/8 cup tomato paste, 1 TBS W-sauce, and 1/2 tsp hot paprika, 1/2 tsp salt. I let it simmer on low for 40 minutes and added 6 oz cooked egg noodle and let them soak up the sauce for 10 minutes. It came out really well, and my husband raved. I would have given in 5 stars, but I changed it too much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Nice recipe! I prefer to replace ketchup with tomato paste, and hit it with a splash of vinegar if you find you need the acidity. By the way, on the strange feedback comment about this dish not being hungarian, I am from Hungary, and I can verify that not only are tomatoes extremely common in Hungarian food, "tons of paprika" do not appear in every dish. That would, frankly, be bizarre. Tomatoes are called paradicsom -the same word as "paradise"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I made this dish exactly by the recipe and was very disappointed with the results. When I tasted the gravy about halfway through cooking, it was too sour... perhaps too much sherry, along with the vinegar in the ketchup. So I added about 1/2 cup more of sour cream, but that didn't improve the taste. It was rather bland and still sour. I added a little rosemary because I thought it needed some kind of herb other than the bay leaf, as well as salt and pepper, a pinch of garlic and a little more paprika. Still not very good. I strongly urge others not to waste good pork chops on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I used half tomato sauce and half ketchup, tripled the worcestershire and paprika, no problem browning the chops dipped just in the flour, also no problem here adding the sour cream along with the other ingredients. I think the trick is to make sure the heat is on low. The pork chops turned out very tender and flavorful, we served over egg noodles. Also browned some onion and garlic along with the chops, seemed to help enhance the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
After reading the reviews, I used half tomato paste / half ketchup in the sauce. The flavour of the ketchup was still quite overpowering. However I served the sauce with pork sausages instead of chops and it worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This recipe was very tasty with changes from others (less cooking time, adding onions, more worcestershire and more regular plus hot paprika, and adding the sour cream at the end). My change was to use concentrated tomato paste half and half with the ketchup. Maybe a little thyme would be good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My husband who hates trying anything new thought this was great! I did pound the chops thin & doubled the sauce-will absolutely do this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was a good way to have pork chops. I did follow others and made a few changes. I seasoned the porkchops, dredged in flour, then dipped in egg, and repeated with the flour before browning. I also simmered the porkchops for only 30mins. Aside from that there where no other changes. It is a dish worth trying and very simple. I will make again adding sauteed onion and garlic as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsamm7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States