Hungarian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. The cream is rich, thick and flavorful. It would be great paired with some white wine. The one-hour cook time is too long. The thick, bone-in pork chops were a little overdone after 50 minutes. I think 35-40 minutes would have been right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I served this last night for dinner. It was fabulous. The only change I made was, I didn't have any ketchup in the house, so I used barbeque sauce. My daughter-in-law is from a small town in Hungary, I asked her if this was close to real Hungarian food. She said pretty close. The only thing she would add to it is a little bit of garlic. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Substituted white wine for the sherry and salted to taste. After browning both sides of the meat, I simmered for 20 minutes with the sauce. The meat was moist and the sauce was flavorful. Family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
The sauce turned out very bitter and very thick. My step-daughter wouldn't even eat it! I was quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was a tasty recipe. I served the pork chops over rice with green beans and blistered cherry tomatoes on the side. I used the full amount of ketchup and found it to be OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a delicious way to prepare chops.I used the advise of others and use half the ketchup. I also made a few other alterations. I add 1/4 cup more sour cream,a few more dashes of worcestershire, 1 Tbls of paprika,1 tsp of minced garlic and 1/4 tsp of onion powder,also I garnished with fresh chives. This recipe is a winner in our home. It was requested again already. I will try this recipe with chicken thighs next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
We did not like the flavors in this. Maybe because I used cooking sherry instead of dry sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This turned out great! It was a hit at my house. Doubled up the paprika because i used sweet paprika...also mixed ketchup with fresh tomatoe sauce. I used fresh cream instead of sour cream which is difficult to find in Mexico. All in all it was a grand hit. I served them over spaetzle (german noodles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acapulco Tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Good, the family liked it, but I was a little annoyed that the breading didn't stick well after the simmering of the sauce. I also did not cook for an hour, in fact my sauce started to dry out/thicken too much so I add some extra water. I will probably make it again, but maybe not with the breading as it seemed to be a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
The pork chops came out tender. My husband *loved* the sauce and poured it over his potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States