Hungarian Noodle Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This was great. I didn't make it in a crock pot, though. I made it as an entree by adding 1 can mushrooms, and 2 shredded chicken breasts. I used Healthy Harvest whole wheat egg noodles, which I slightly undercooked. Instead of chicken bullion (which I was out of), I used beef bullion. I also added 2 tsps of dill and instead of the hot sauce, I used 2 tsps of hot paprika. I sauted the onions and mushrooms, then heated the ingredients through and put it in a cassarole dish. I baked it for 25 minutes at 350. It came out great! Next time I am going to replace the water with either sherry or marsala (not the cooking kind, blech!). My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This is a FANTASTIC side dish! Great with grilled pork tenderloin, hamburgers, steak! I baked this at 325-degrees in a 3-quart lightly greased casserole for 60 minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I found this noodle dish to bland and, when cooked in the crockpost as suggested, to be a large gummy blob. Even the kids wouldn't touch it. I was very upset at the time and expense for something totally inedible. I made it for an event and it was the only item that was almost totally uneaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixi M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Excellent meatless noodle dish!!!! Next time i'm going to add mushrooms. It has a wonderful creamy texture and a good flavor. I cooked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes until it was hot and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Great, creamy side dish. I used light sour cream and 1% cottage cheese. I did cut the recipe in half, so I cooked on high for 2 hours and low for 30-40 minutes. Had a few crispy noodles around the edges, but the pasta wasn't mushy. Also instead of the can of soup I used Homemade Cream-Style Soup Mix from this site. This would be a great recipe for a dinner party when you don't want to worry about all your dishes at the last minute :) And I would definitely serve this one to guests. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very tasty. I added chunks of chicken that I sauted with some red pepper. I didn't have poppy seeds so I used caraway seeds, they added a great underlying flavor. Next time I will make a half batch or freeze half because this was a TON of food. Almost wouldn't fit in my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Followed the recipe to a T and it was wonderful. I did not find it in any way bland or dry. The flavors really complimented one another well. I think this dish would be good with some beef, pork, or even tuna added to it for a hearty main dish. Thanks for sharing an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I love this recipe - I add ground beef and pork and serve it as a meal - I put in the crock on low in the AM, and it is ready when I get home from work - about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I add a can of mushrooms and garlic salt. Everybody loves this recipe (well everybody that likes mushrooms!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
According to my Hungarian husband, this dish is similar to mac and cheese here in America. Kids love it as a afterschool snack. When I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States