Hungarian Noodle Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this dish according to the recipe given and it turned out very well. The noodles weren't over done and it was very tasty. By way of greater clarification, I would add the following to the instructions: Cook the noodles to al dente (4 min. in my case). Dissolve the chicken bullion cubes (I used "Better than Bullion") in a 1/4 cup of boiling water. Cook in covered slow cooker on high for 3 hours, or until onions are just crisp and cheese is light brown. Note: If this is served as a side dish (we ate it as an entree) it's probably much more than 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
i found myself with an abundance of egg noodles. rather than hold onto them for my usual uses, i decided to make this as a main dish tonight. i added some chicken that i fried with onions and dusted of paprika. i did not have 'cream of' soup so i made my own. i also subbed some leftover ricotta for the cottage cheese. (i also cut recipe in half) turned out really good. i put everything together and baked (covered) for about 40 mins at 350 degrees. thanks so much for the post CORWYNN DARKHOLME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Very good. No hot sauce needed. Bake in 350 oven for 30-40min., or prepare ahead, refrigerate, then bake for an hour. Could add chicken or tuna for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made thisexactly to the recipe. It was too loose and we did not care for it. The family ate it dutifully. I do not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banffjasper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I brought this to a party, and it was very, very popular. I personally didn't think it was extraordinary. It's ok. But boy, kids and adults kept coming back for more helping! It was a crowd pleaser for sure. Very easy to make, comforting and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
My hubby absolutely loved this! I used Kluski noodles instead of wide egg noodles, because they're his favorite. I also added slightly more hot sauce to give it a little bit more of a kick. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elysa Hellermann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
It was great on the stove top but dried out and mushy in the slow cooker. Still tasty, if you could get past that feeling in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I thought this came out rather good. I didn't have the hot sauce so I subbed in hot taco sauce. I used the oven at 350 for 30 mins; no crockpot needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Terrific!! Something New!! This is my first time preparing a Hungarian dish and the pasta was great. Next time I prepare this dish, I am going to add tuna or chicken to the pasta, since this is a dish you can add meat to. I really enjoyed this pasta dish and it is a meal in it self. Thanks you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yes, you can make this in the crock pot without the dish becoming gummy. First off, cook the egg noodles only halfway. I don't suggest you cook in the crock pot for the 3-4 hours. I did 2 hours on high, then you can turn down to "keep warm". I did 2 hours on high and about an hour on low, which almost overdid the dish. I added 1.5 lbs cooked ground turkey and a can of mushroom pieces. I didn't have onion or poppy seed on hand. Even my picky eater ate it up. 4 stars based on the original recipe which would have been overcooked if followed to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffyangel4ever

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States