Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I give this soup a round of applause!!! Okay, I may sound like a total idiot, but I just loved this! I was expecting it to be similar to Cream of Mushroom Soup, but it was more of a flavorful soup than a creamy, rich one. True, it was rich even though we used Skim Milk and Light Sour Cream. But it was fabulous nonethless! I can understand why some previous reviewers opted to lessen the lemon juice and dill. However, I think they all added to the flavor in a wonderful, round-about way. The only change I made is to use fresh basil instead of parsley because our parsley plant is, um, dead, but it was still excellent! With some bread and a salad, this soup is a complete meal. This might sound weird, but next time, I would consider adding some bacon. I think that would kick up the flavor another notch! (Quoting Emeril now :o) Some potatoes or chicken added might be good as well. Then it would be almost like chicken stroganoff soup? Yummy. This is one of my favorite soups!!! Oh, by the way, it was so easy to make! I am 15 years old and have only been cooking for about a year or so and found it SO easy! In fact, I did it while doing my homework. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Hubs and I found this soup excellent, exquisite and extravagant, but unfortunately we also both agree it falls short of perfection just for the fact that it calls for about twice the parsley it should. I used an "exotic mushroom medley," (package description, not mine) which gave this great texture, different shapes, and bold flavor. The dill and lemon both play their parts and have important contributions. I used a good, sweet Hungarian paprika which really makes a difference in the final result. Just delicious, but you kind of have to wade through the parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This soup is absolutely delicious, and SO easy to make. My husband (who happens to be Hungarian) really liked it. Even though I used lowfat low sodium chicken broth, fat free sour cream, 2 tbsp dried parsley instead of fresh, lite soy sauce and 2% milk, it still had a very rich and flavorful taste. Here's a tip for slicing your mushrooms....use your eggslicer. Works like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Best mushroom soup I've ever had! Very similar to the yummy Panera mushroom soups. I've prepared this following the recipe exactly as written, as well as with some tweaks of my own -- it's all good! I've settled into a recipe of using a variety of mushrooms (button, crimini, portobello, shitakii), fat-free half-and-half instead of milk, reduced fat sour cream, and a splash of sherry (in addition to the other original ingredients). At the end, I use an immersion blender to partially blend the soup right in the pan, creating a smooth, creamy texture with chunks of mushrooms. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I love this soup. I read the other reviews, and I didn't think there was too much dill or lemon, it could have used a little more. If you enjoy eastern european food (german, austrian, hungarian) you'll love this soup. I did modify by adding 2 cups of diced potatoes at the stage that I added the broth. I thought there would be plenty for leftovers, but that wasn't the case. Three people ate the entire batch. I will make double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This recipe was easy and very, very good. If all you have is salted butter to saute the onions and mushrooms with than eliminate the teaspoon of salt the recipe calls for at the end. I didn't do this and found it to be much too salty. The added soy sauce and chicken broth will also be salty so you might want to eliminate that extra teaspoon altogether if that's something you're concerned about. However! I will definitely be making this scrumpdillyicious recipe again! Thanks for sharing, Cathy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was one of the best soups I have found on this site, even though I omitted the butter and sour cream. I ate this right up and so did my partner, even though he is not a big mushroom fan. And it smelt fantastic whilst it was cooking! Thanks for a great recipe. *UPDATE* I used this recipe in a soup competition and won first prize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was fabulous - deserving of its high rating. Made a few changes - I put the onions through the food processor before saute-ing and after saute-ing the mushrooms with the onions - I put half the mixture through the food processor - then followed the recipe as indicated. It made a very elegant soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This soup is AWESOME! After making it I thought I bought a $10 bowl of soup at a fancy restaurant! Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
The best mushroom soup I have ever eaten!!! I am not sure I could ever go back to canned. I made this for a serving of 9 so it called for 1 l/2 cups of milk - I just changed that to 1 cup of milk and l/2 cup of heavy cream as others did. Other than than, I followed the recipe exactly. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States