Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Oh wow, this is really delicious. I used baby bella mushrooms because that's what I had, and I think they were really good in this soup (we like the extra meaty texture). Only change I made was more sour cream on top when it was served, which we liked. Next time I will try a little less dill, not because we didn't like it but because the soup is so full of rich yet subtle flavors we thought the dill was a little too prominent. I used no fat sour cream (once again, it was on hand) and don't think it made any difference. Since I didn't have no salt broth I skipped adding salt, and was glad I did cause it was plenty salty. I recommend low salt broth, that way you can add salt as you like. The reviews that complained about the parsley may have used dried instead of fresh - that amount of dried parsley would be overwhelming, but the fresh was a night light addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Mushroom chewy texture could be reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This reminds me of a basque style mushroom soup I once had yet way better. I used sodelicious unsweetened coconut milk in place of regular milk and didn't add sour cream either since I'm allergic to dairy. Kept the other ingredients all the same, those should definitely be kept as is since they balance each other out. The second time I made this I just reduced the liquids to make a thick sauce and put it over pasta. Even my hubby who hates mushrooms had several helpings. So so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
We enjoyed this very much. It doesn't reheat well, though, IMO; be sure to eat as much as you can when you cook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I read the other reviews and cut down on the lemon and dill and the flavors were still overpowering to me. This was too rich and the flavors didn't work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This soup is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been making mushroom soups over the years from different websites. This is definitely my favorite. Only change I made was using half and half. Never had a better soup at any upscale restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a great recipe and delicious soup. I make it for my family. My wife, whom is a terrific cook, loves it when I make this. I did use a little more lemon and a tad more dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This soup was not bad. It was easy because all I had to do was chop the onions and wash the pre-chopped mushrooms. Next time I would use some red wine if I had some around. Some carrots might also be nice. I liked the color but after I put the sour cream into the soup it didn't really mix well. I'm not sure if the soup was too hot or cold or what? No one else appears to have had this problem. I don't typically have sour cream in the fridge so next time I probably won't even bother with it. It isn't essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I've made this soup many times (love soups). I love it, and so does my boyfriend and anyone else I've made it for. Very yummy. Use low-fat milk and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States