Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Most excellent! I added just a bit of grated aged horseradish cheddar cheese on top of the bowls just before serving that I happened to have and this was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardenmaster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luttrell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
I made this for my mom's birthday. She is Hungarian and I was trying to make her an Hungarian themed dinner. This was a big hit. Everybody loved it, including my kids. I'm always trying new recipes and don't make the same things very often, but my husband and kids all said they hope to see this soup on the dinner table again. Besides "delicious", my mom's only comment on the soup was that it is fancier than the mushroom soup her mom used to make. -- Changes I made. I only have skim milk in my house and I thought this recipe should use whole milk. So I combined 1/2 cup of skim with 1/2 cup of heavy cream. I also combined 8oz of baby bella mushrooms and 8oz of mixed gourmet blend mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
This is delicious! If you like french onion soup, you'll like this. It tastes like french onion soup with chunks of mushroom and a bit of dill flavor. I made it according to the directions using baby portabello mushrooms. I didn't have fresh parsley so I subbed with half the amount of dried. My husband and I loved it, but the kids wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
I am sure it would have been better if I splurged on expensive paprika, but with regular paprika and made the recipe as written, we were underwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
An update to my review....I used smoked paprika, fat free half and half and light sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This was absolutely the best mushroom soup ever. Made the recipe exactly as written except used the salted butter and didn't add the other salt. My family loved it! Will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Excellent soup! The only thing I did different was to add a couple teaspoons of mushroom base. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Excellent! I only had hot paprika on hand and used two tsp. it gave it a little kick which was really very tasty. Will buy regular and try again and see which we prefer. I'm sure either way will be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This was so good! I followed the recipe exact and there were even heated debates that night about who got the rest of the leftover soup to pack for lunch the next day! (I was the one who packed lunches the night before, so yes, I packed it in my lunch box) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was really good. An outstanding soup for my winter rotation! (Although I like soup at any time of the year). Next time I will double the recipe. As I was eating this I couldn't help noticing that it tastes like a really great base for beef stroganoff. So, of course, that's what I made the next day I just thickened it up a bit, added some beef, (I just used ground sirloin), some more black pepper and sour cream and served over egg noodles. Next time I make this I'll save half PRIOR to adding the dill and lemon juice to make beef stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leann Tucek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,085) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States