Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This was so good! I followed the recipe exact and there were even heated debates that night about who got the rest of the leftover soup to pack for lunch the next day! (I was the one who packed lunches the night before, so yes, I packed it in my lunch box) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was really good. An outstanding soup for my winter rotation! (Although I like soup at any time of the year). Next time I will double the recipe. As I was eating this I couldn't help noticing that it tastes like a really great base for beef stroganoff. So, of course, that's what I made the next day I just thickened it up a bit, added some beef, (I just used ground sirloin), some more black pepper and sour cream and served over egg noodles. Next time I make this I'll save half PRIOR to adding the dill and lemon juice to make beef stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I have a very strong positive association with this recipe from my childhood. It is so delicious. Today, I decided to add something to satisfy the meat lovers in my house. I started by cooking 3 strips of bacon and a chicken breast in my soup pot. I removed the chicken when it was cooked, shredded it and drained and chopped the bacon. In the drippings, I then sautéed the onions and mushrooms. I added 2 chopped and peeled potatoes. Because of the extra ingredients, I added extra broth. The dill and paprika with the mushrooms smell so good. I served the soup with a fresh loaf of crusty sourdough bread. I really liked this version, but the original recipe is always awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
One of the better mushroom soups I had with a lot of flavour due to the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
It seemed bland to me. I measured everything exactly, including weighing the mushrooms (baby bellas). When I put in the milk/flour mixture, it became so thick that it was no longer like soup, even though I used the right amount of flour. I had to add more chicken stock just so it would not be a glob of goo. If I make it again, I will omit or decrease the flour, as the soup is plenty thick without it. I also had to bump up the soy a little (before adding the additional stock, but I left out the tsp of salt). It seemed rather flavorless before I put in the extra soy, lacking the umami we all crave. If I make it again, I may try putting just a tad of beef stock in it or some fish sauce to amp up the umami. 1/4 C parsley is enough & it should be chopped very finely; probably a food processor would be best for that. This soup is okay, but I just don't think it has that great a melding of flavors. Now that I read one review that it's originally a Moosewood Cookbook recipe, that may explain the initial blandness. So many of their recipes must be altered to provide any flavor. Maybe it will be better after it sits for a day & I'll change my tune or maybe it's my taste buds (everyone is different). In fact, as I finish the bowl while writing this, I have to admit it is growing on me, which could mean that it needs to be served less than piping hot. For now, only 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Super easy, I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream- love love love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Awesome simple soup. We love it. I used beef broth instead as that's what I had and wasn't sorry, will keep it that way with baby bellas gave a nice full meaty flavor. It's a monthly meal now and can even be made on a week night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This is the best Mushroom soup I have ever had! It is creamy, rich in flavor, the parsley, lemon and sour cream as the finishing touch......Amazing! I wouldn't change a thing, except if I could have found this recipe years ago I would have been making it all the time. Regret is such a sad thing. Thank you! Love this recipe. Everyone needs to try this one. Follow exactly and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kotopolo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
My husband, who doesn't like mushrooms, was willing to taste it, and loved it! My 4 and 6 year olds also both really liked it. I thought I'd have leftovers for the week, but we ate it all! I used shiitake and cremini mushrooms, cut the salt in half, and added garlic and a splash of wine (because garlic and wine make everything better). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,077) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States