Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This soup brought me right back to my childhood. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I made half a batch to try this & it was SUPERB! I would say this recipe is only 4 servings (as we got 2 from half batch), but perhaps we like big servings. Used whole milk, butter w/canola and light sour cream and only 6 WW points per serving; another plus for me. I'm passing this on to friends also. THANK YOU for such a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
So rich and full of flavor yet so easy to prepare.I added 2 potatoes and reduced parsley. My family loved it - together with crusty bread - quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This soup has wonderful flavor, the one I made was a bit thick so I had to add more water to it and I think next time I will add cooked barley to it to give it more bite. Otherwise I followed eh recipe to the T using fresh dill. Will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I normally HATE mushroom soup (the canned junk ruined me forever), but needed a recipe for a staff soup lunch and found this. It's super easy, it's customisable (I used vegetable broth instead of chicken for the vegetarians on staff), and pretty well un-screw-up-able. I'm adding this to my Food Studies curriculum! One thing: I didn't use parsley because I didn't have any. It wasn't missed by anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made it gluten free using some gluten free flour. Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This soup is fantastic. I didn't have paprika when making it because I'm in the middle of moving and haven't fully unpacked yet. Needed to use mushrooms anyway, so I went ahead and made it. It was so good I can't imagine how it could be any better! I add a few tsps. of cayenne pepper to all my soup recipes, so that was slightly different as well. I used regular chicken broth, unsalted butter, and didn't add any salt. I used the juice of a whole lemon, which was probably more like a few tbsps., and it was awesome. The combination of mushrooms, dill, fresh parsley, lemon juice, and sour cream is RIDICULOUS good. Mine was missing the paprika so didn't have the pretty color (more of a tan/brown) but two big bowls for dinner didn't seem like enough! You won't regret this one. I'm looking forward to making it again with some Hungarian Paprika! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Have made this few times just as written and love it. Today I added some kale I had left over and a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onion, even yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I am a wannabe soup connoisseur and this was deeeelish!!! I make a lot of soup and this sure passed the test! The chicken stock was made in the crockpot this morning using a Costco Rotisserie chicken carcass I had simmered down in low sodium chicken broth. After picking the carcass the broth probably ended up with 1.5 cu of chicken meat in it. I didn't have any unsalted butter so I cut back on the salt added in the final steps. Also... I only keep smoked paprika on hand so that threw a little different twist on the flavor, but excellent nonetheless. I keep home squeezed lemon juice in the freezer, and I used light sour cream. Those were my only changes. As the other cook suggested.. I will FOR SURE try this using fresh basil! I wouldn't hesitate to put steamed shelled shrimp in it too! I served it with sourdough toasted and buttered French bread. Yummmmmmmmmmmyyyyyy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States