Hungarian Lecso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
this is easily put together with common ingredients and tastes great over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
So easy to make & super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Good recipe! It took longer than 20 min for my potatoes to be cooked. I used Al Freso roasted pepper and asiago chicken sausage, and used jalapeños instead of green peppers. Also used green onion instead of white. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Should it still hurt me after all these years that there is that one unkind review that slams the authenticity of my grandmother's recipe? It shouldn't, but it does. I am glad that so many people enjoy it, though. And for the record, I visited my Hungarian Jewish cousins (direct from Budapest) a few months ago and they do almost the same recipe except for the potatoes. :) And yes, that's my submission. I have a new account now that I'm married. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayandkim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I don't know anything about Hungarian food... but I DO know about good food, and this was GOOD! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I changed it a bit. I used 3 medium sized tomatoes and about 1/4 cup of tomato sauce instead of the jar of tomato sauce and can of tomatoes. I also added rice to it. It turned out great. However, it isn't the traditional lecso that I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Ever have the most perfect recipe come up when using the ingredient search? This is mine... Overall very good - it did need salt and pepper though and a little longer to cook to blend flavors and to soften the poatoes. Very hearty and healthy (used chicken sausage) on a cold evening! Thanks for sharing! Oh and PS for everyone who gave it bad reviews saying it's not authentic... the submitter never claims it's authentic - they say it's been "americanized" meaning adapted. I appreciate this interpretation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The is-it-or-isn't-it-traditional-Lecso reviews didn't affect my taste buds, as I didn't have anything to compare this recipe too. (I had the ingredients on hand and wanted an easy crock meal for a chilly night.) I don't think my following changes would affect the integrity of the original recipe. I browned the smoked sausage in a little EVOO w/ the garlic, onion, and bell peppers, and then dumped everything in the crock pot for 8 hrs on low. I used about 2 c. of homemade spaghetti sauce and 1 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes w/ jalapenos for some extra kick. (Truth by told, I can't recall ever seeing stewed tomatoes packed in a mere 8 oz. can.) It was the perfect consistency for dragging hunks of french bread through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was very good and easy to make. The only changes I made was I substituted stewed tomatoes with diced ones because I didn't have stewed ones. Next time I make this (and I will) I'm going to add a little more water because it was a little too pasty for our taste, and maybe a teaspoon or so of salt. Thanks for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
not bad this is not a stew more a soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States