Hungarian Lecso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Very good recipe. I have made this about 5 or 6 times now and I usually follow the recipe as is I just add in a few pinches of salt and pepper. Otherwise, this recipe is perfect as it is. Very flavorful and tasty. Thanks for sharing with us. Also, someone mentioned it has nothing to do with real Hungarian. Just wanted to kindly point out that it does state above that the dish has been Americanized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TruckTruckGoose
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Very easy; not bad in a pinch. I used 4 tbsp butter instead of 1. Sauteed potatoes and garlic for about 10 mins on medium high. I used angus beef smoked sausage as well. A little sweet for my taste, so I juiced it up with some hot sauce. But that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruckTruckGoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
this is easily put together with common ingredients and tastes great over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
So easy to make & super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Good recipe! It took longer than 20 min for my potatoes to be cooked. I used Al Freso roasted pepper and asiago chicken sausage, and used jalapeños instead of green peppers. Also used green onion instead of white. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Should it still hurt me after all these years that there is that one unkind review that slams the authenticity of my grandmother's recipe? It shouldn't, but it does. I am glad that so many people enjoy it, though. And for the record, I visited my Hungarian Jewish cousins (direct from Budapest) a few months ago and they do almost the same recipe except for the potatoes. :) And yes, that's my submission. I have a new account now that I'm married. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayandkim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I don't know anything about Hungarian food... but I DO know about good food, and this was GOOD! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I changed it a bit. I used 3 medium sized tomatoes and about 1/4 cup of tomato sauce instead of the jar of tomato sauce and can of tomatoes. I also added rice to it. It turned out great. However, it isn't the traditional lecso that I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Ever have the most perfect recipe come up when using the ingredient search? This is mine... Overall very good - it did need salt and pepper though and a little longer to cook to blend flavors and to soften the poatoes. Very hearty and healthy (used chicken sausage) on a cold evening! Thanks for sharing! Oh and PS for everyone who gave it bad reviews saying it's not authentic... the submitter never claims it's authentic - they say it's been "americanized" meaning adapted. I appreciate this interpretation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The is-it-or-isn't-it-traditional-Lecso reviews didn't affect my taste buds, as I didn't have anything to compare this recipe too. (I had the ingredients on hand and wanted an easy crock meal for a chilly night.) I don't think my following changes would affect the integrity of the original recipe. I browned the smoked sausage in a little EVOO w/ the garlic, onion, and bell peppers, and then dumped everything in the crock pot for 8 hrs on low. I used about 2 c. of homemade spaghetti sauce and 1 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes w/ jalapenos for some extra kick. (Truth by told, I can't recall ever seeing stewed tomatoes packed in a mere 8 oz. can.) It was the perfect consistency for dragging hunks of french bread through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States