Hungarian Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I would recommend to give this recipe a new title like: Hungarian Bean Goulash Soup, but this does not cover the truth either reading the ingredients. I never put tomato juice in the Bean Goulash soup, but I don't argue on the recipe. Somebody might cook this way..you know, so much houses so much customs. Being a Hungarian myself, I give it a 3 stars only for the canned ingredients. Hungarians NEVER cook from canned vegetables. At least it is very rare. Who I know they don't. The only not fresh veggie I used is pea, but the kind of in the glass jar. Believe me, there is a difference. The recipe sounds good otherwise, but please, use fresh ingredients!! You will feel the difference!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I give your recipe FIVE stars! And if you serve this with a huge chunk of Hungarian rye bread, there are your meals for Thursday and Saturday. (Catholic Hungarians fast on Fridays, and the stew ages SO well!) I hate the canned green beans, though, and any canned vegetables. I say, if you cannot get them fresh, do not use them! At the second serving on Saturday -- add sour cream carefully so it does not curdle. Magnificent, served with egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
The Goulash I grew up with didn't have veggies but who cares? This recipe is yummy! I used V8 Spicy Hot tomato juice as a quick and easy way to give some zip and I used 1/2 t. of thyme instead of bay leaves. I added egg noodles and frozen petite at the end with the beans. (I like peas firm, not mushy.) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Very good recipe, although, as others have mentioned, it is much more like bableves than gulyas. I traveled to many regions of Hungary for 2 years and found several different varieties -- even one that could only be described as "vegetarian" gulyas. The most common version of gulyas, however, is a simple meat and potato soup, that often has a few noodles added for extra measure. Many restaurants in Hungary will spice it up with very hot peppers, which is what I did with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Trapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perryton, Texas, USA
Living In: Orange City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Hello All, YES!!!! There is Gulash with beans in it! Called "Babgulyás"! It is more a soup than a stew if we want to be exact. There is a misunderstanding between gulash and "gulyas". Hunarians call their favourite soup gulyás-leves, and most of the foriners mix it up (and sadly we do not corredt them!) with an other meal called "pörkölt" or "paprikás" what is a stew. To mix you up guys even more, the interesting thing is, they are mostly the same, just the soup version has more stuff in it, like potatoes, carrots, celery leafs and celeriac, and more water! :) Or beans, if it is a (bean)-babgulyás! What you all call gulash is not the real thing, if we talk about a hungarian meal! I will put on this site the real "gulash" what is made of beef, pork or chicken and called "pörkölt". It is a hard name, this is why everybody says gulash! :) Oh, and I never ever ever have seen any kind of lemon or lemon zest in hungarian soup or stew!!!!! This is sure! Also we do not use butter for cooking meat, just fat or oil. Cheers, Andika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
We substituted wild boar for the beef, left out the peas, and it was fantastic. Even if the Hungarians say it doesn't technically qualify as Hungarian goulash because it has beans in it, it was still a delicious recipe! And easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Being Hungarian myself, I agree that it's unheard of to put beans of any sort in Goulash [thats what the fozeleks and such are for]. It's fine as a soup in general though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
My family really liked this recipe. I used ground beef and sauted onions, garlic and celery with the meat. The end result was great with lots of flavor~this recipe is very flexible, add what you have on hand and season until you are satisfied with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This is THE best Goulash I ever had! however, instead of using canned veggies, i used fresh, cooking it that long made them come out nice and soft. i also added about 1/2 package of wide egg noodles at the end with the kidney beans...yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States