Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was one of the easiest slow cooker recipes I've made. I followed the advice of someone who added their egg noodles the last half hour of cooking. That is also when I added the flour paste but I mixed it with milk instead of water. Cooked on high 4 hours and was very tender. I added mushrooms and used beef broth instead of water in the first use of it and left so left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I am sorry to say, but I did not care for this. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I followed the suggestion to use seasoned flour (I added a little chipolte seasoning, salt, & pepper) to coat the beef before putting it in the crockpot. I used all the ingredients in the recipe as stated except for I used 1 tsp dijon mustard and 1 tsp. chipotle pepper in adobo sauce that I added to the food processor when I chopped the onions, plus two dashes hot sauce. It gave the dish a mild "kick". I also served with a dollop of sour cream on top and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe--so easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was pretty good... would definitely skip either the brown sugar, or replace the ketchup with tomato sauce - as other reviewers said, it was a little too sweet. I didn't have time to cube the beef and just threw the whole roast in the crockpot - shredded it at the end. (Also, 1/4 cup of flour made this mixture REALLY thick. Probably doesn't need that much.) It's not gourmet, but fits the bill for a slow cooker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this for dinner last night. My family ate it, and even had seconds. I subbed tomato sauce for the ketchup, added a small can of diced tomatoes, and added sour cream before serving over egg noodles. Makes a nice filling winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Finally, a recipe for Hungarian goulash that IS Hungarian goulash. I see so many recipes that as good as they may be are NOT really goulash, This IS. Very easily adapted to your liking by adding more or less of something. But if you follow this exactly you will have authentic Hungarian Goulash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I’m no professional chef, but I could not in good conscious use ketchup as an ingredient. I used a no-salt added tomato juice with a bit of honey to taste instead. I also used smoked sweet paprika which was outstanding in this dish. I brined the meat overnight so I reduced the salt accordingly. Finally, instead of mixing the flour with water, I mixed it with equal parts of the liquid from the goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I LOVE this recipe! I've made it many times and always get compliments. The best part is that it is so easy, and uses ingredients that you have on hand. I follow the recipe to a "T" (except I add less salt and I use stewing beef) and always have lots of great sauce to serve over the egg noodles. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This Was HOrrible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsfalgoutcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States