Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I am on the fence about this one. There was something in the sauce that I was not big on. I'm not sure if it was the worcestershire or the new paprika I purchased. The meat was super tender and it was easy to do, but I think I prefer the other goulash recipe from this site that was done on the stove top. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Meh. This was just "OK." Made this for dinner tonight. I DO like Rhonda's version better than Enviro2's (Hungarian Goulash II) though.... For one, I like the fact that Rhonda's version can be prepared in the slow cooker. I also like her sauce much better (Enviro2's is very tomatoey; Rhonda's is subtly sweet). My fiance liked this more than I did. He did find the meat to be a tad bland, but enjoyed the sauce quite a bit. My only suggestion for anyone giving this a try is to season your meat (to taste) with seasoned salt (or table salt) AND pepper and brown in a skillet BEFORE adding to the slow cooker. I would have, but am battling a terrible sinus infection and just didn't feel up to it. Served over egg noodles with warm caraway rye wheat bread, creamed spinach and Sauerkraut Salad (Joan Long Dixon - also on this site), this was a decent meal. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Rhonda :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This would have been good but it was so salty that I almost couldn't eat it! I will try making it again, because aside from the saltiness, it tasted pretty good. But next time, I'm omitting the salt and will probably add more sugar and use tomato sauce instead of ketchup. It wasn't very saucy and turned out a bit dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Pretty good and very quick and easy to make, love next day with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and made sure I had sweet paprika - actually found it at World Market - and it was delicious. Even my 2 year old and 5 year old ate it. It's a keeper and will be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
It was tasty but too sweet. I think I would choose to make a stew over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Lovely. I only had regular paprika, so I used the full amount of paprika and added about 1/2 tsp. of chili powder. Didn't change anything else, but did use Wondra flour instead of AP and really liked how it thickened up - something I've always struggled to achieve in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Blah. . . even after Doctoring (which I did after tasting having followed this recipe to the 'T'). . .still blah. I will pass on this forevermore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I totally loved this recipe! I am brand new to cooking dinners. I even botched this up--by leaving it in the slow cooker too long--and it's not really botched at all! I just added a little bit of water to the over thickened sauce, and it was all set and ready to go. I'm so happy I found something even I can't mess up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Tasted great as is! Not enough sauce-double that portion of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States