Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
It wasn't bad, but we did not really care for it. Probably will not make again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I made this last night for my friends and it was a big hit!! I ended up finding smoked paprika in the supermarket which i think made the dish. also added red pepper, carrot and mushroom like other review has suggested and served with a pot of sour cream and loaf of bread on the table. Brilliant! Will definately make again.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Everyone like this...something different. I served this with hot buttered egg noodles and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This came out quite nicely and my main "beef" was only with the beef and, as with so many reviews we see here, it was because I didn't use the recommended cut! I didn't recall "chuck roast" so the butcher recommended a leaner cut which came out a bit dry. I maybe missed the tomato-ness I recall from my youth with an Hungarian cook we employed but this was not far off and quite enjoyable. As one wrote in a Goulash review here, there is no one "right" way to make it. In the end, it boils down to personal taste. Nothing wrong with that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This goulash is very close in flavor to my favorite soup of all time- served at Helga's German Restaurant and Deli in Aurora, Colorado. However, like Helga's, I added chopped carrots and celery. The carrots went in with 5 hours left, and the celery with 2 1/2 hours left (I think) so they wouldn't get soggy. Next time: I'll omit the brown sugar. It was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was not the best slow cooker recipe for the amount of work involved. (I cut steaks into pieces, seasoned and browned the meat, created a roux to thicken, etc). The meat was extra tender, but my boyfriend said (as other reviewers have) that the "sauce" was missing something. He suggested Sour Cream. (He's used to goulash with sour cream - although I did pick this one b/c it seemed the best rated HEALTHY recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Wow! I did cut down on the liquid (using 1/2 cp of stock), and I browned the meat before I added it to the crock pot. Even my picky 10 year old was impressed (he had 3rds!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Thank you this was so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
My husband and I really liked the taste and the ease of preparation. Wonderful flavor. We served this over Spatzle with a salad on the side. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was very yummy. My non-meat loving two year old actually said for the first time ever "more beef please"! Obviously I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States