Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This goulash is very close in flavor to my favorite soup of all time- served at Helga's German Restaurant and Deli in Aurora, Colorado. However, like Helga's, I added chopped carrots and celery. The carrots went in with 5 hours left, and the celery with 2 1/2 hours left (I think) so they wouldn't get soggy. Next time: I'll omit the brown sugar. It was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was not the best slow cooker recipe for the amount of work involved. (I cut steaks into pieces, seasoned and browned the meat, created a roux to thicken, etc). The meat was extra tender, but my boyfriend said (as other reviewers have) that the "sauce" was missing something. He suggested Sour Cream. (He's used to goulash with sour cream - although I did pick this one b/c it seemed the best rated HEALTHY recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Wow! I did cut down on the liquid (using 1/2 cp of stock), and I browned the meat before I added it to the crock pot. Even my picky 10 year old was impressed (he had 3rds!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Thank you this was so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
My husband and I really liked the taste and the ease of preparation. Wonderful flavor. We served this over Spatzle with a salad on the side. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was very yummy. My non-meat loving two year old actually said for the first time ever "more beef please"! Obviously I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
I made this for some friends for dinner, and we all loved it. I never make beef dishes, but I wanted to try something different, and this was delicious! I served it over egg noodles with a salad on the side - delish! I will definitely make again, but next time I might adjust the seasonings slightly more to my tastes i.e. more hot paprika! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
It was ok, probably will not make again. It is not like the Goulash I had when in Austria. I think I will let my mom continue making goulash for us and use her recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
This was very good. I did brown the beef for just a second in a little bit of hot oil. Make sure you get Hungarian paprika, not plain paprika. I think that makes a difference! I served this over plain egg noodles. The only thing I would do differently next time is add about half the salt. It didn't taste salty (rather sweet) but after eating it I was so thirsty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
SOOO Easy!! I just browned the beef in a little oil, then added remaining ingredients,& turned down on the stove. Great over noodles, rice, or mashed potatoes. I did use a can of diced tomatoes in place of some of the water. My son likes to add Texas Pete to everything, so that's an option at the table. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States