Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Finally, a recipe for Hungarian goulash that IS Hungarian goulash. I see so many recipes that as good as they may be are NOT really goulash, This IS. Very easily adapted to your liking by adding more or less of something. But if you follow this exactly you will have authentic Hungarian Goulash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I’m no professional chef, but I could not in good conscious use ketchup as an ingredient. I used a no-salt added tomato juice with a bit of honey to taste instead. I also used smoked sweet paprika which was outstanding in this dish. I brined the meat overnight so I reduced the salt accordingly. Finally, instead of mixing the flour with water, I mixed it with equal parts of the liquid from the goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I LOVE this recipe! I've made it many times and always get compliments. The best part is that it is so easy, and uses ingredients that you have on hand. I follow the recipe to a "T" (except I add less salt and I use stewing beef) and always have lots of great sauce to serve over the egg noodles. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This Was HOrrible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsfalgoutcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
If you are looking for easy crock pot recipes this is it. I didn't even use a crock pot I just placed it in the oven with a lid on. At 200 degrees and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Very good.....family enjoyed....I sauteed my onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic first. I dredged my beef cubes in flour, salt, and pepper. Added all ingredients to the crockpot and also added 1c. water and a packet of low sodium beef boullion to the pot. I didnt need to add additional flour and water. The flour on the beef was enough to thicken the broth. Served over buttered egg noodles. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. My husband loved it. It was a little less tangy than I had hoped but still delicious. It was better the second day as leftovers. I served it over whole wheat, no yolk egg noodles tossed with butter. This will definitely be returning to our dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was surprisingly good. When i first read the ingredients I thought it would be a bit too basic and boring, but it was anything but. This will become a household regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was easy to make, and very similar to what I was looking for. I didn't use a slow cooker, instead I cooked it on low on the stove top for about 2 hours, stirring about every 15 minutes. I also added garlic powder. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
So-so, I added mushroom soup instead of all the water as someone else suggested. It was an o.k. meal, but nothing I would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States