Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I have a similar recipe and came across this one when I was looking for a slow cooker version. I still used my measurements (an old family recipe) but wanted to let you know that this is a GREAT goulash! It is delicious without adding any extras (tomato, mushrooms, carrots...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I will be making this recipe again, next time more of it! I added sliced portobello mushrooms instead of onions (kids don't like them cooked) and organic beef broth instead of water. I tried some crockpot recipes before but they did not turn out well, so I did not know what to expect with this one - but it was soo good! I served it with pasta once, and the next day with mashed potatoes. I used stew beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This just tasted like sloppy joes to me. I won't repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is a very delicious but typical beef stew. Like others I browned the meat first. It was fine served over noodles, but I think it would be better over potatos. Also, traditional goulash usually has green peppers included, which I think would have improved the stew. The best part about this was the long cooking time and tomato softened the meat so that it was melt-in-the mouth tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My husband and I love trying new recipes from All Recipes - this is the first one we will never make again as it didn't taste like Goulash. Perhaps if it were named something else....it was too acidic for Goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was easy to prepare, delicious and a fun Halloween dinner when we renamed it "Hungry Goul Slop"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Yummy, easy to make, I didn't change anything about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I am on the fence about this one. There was something in the sauce that I was not big on. I'm not sure if it was the worcestershire or the new paprika I purchased. The meat was super tender and it was easy to do, but I think I prefer the other goulash recipe from this site that was done on the stove top. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Meh. This was just "OK." Made this for dinner tonight. I DO like Rhonda's version better than Enviro2's (Hungarian Goulash II) though.... For one, I like the fact that Rhonda's version can be prepared in the slow cooker. I also like her sauce much better (Enviro2's is very tomatoey; Rhonda's is subtly sweet). My fiance liked this more than I did. He did find the meat to be a tad bland, but enjoyed the sauce quite a bit. My only suggestion for anyone giving this a try is to season your meat (to taste) with seasoned salt (or table salt) AND pepper and brown in a skillet BEFORE adding to the slow cooker. I would have, but am battling a terrible sinus infection and just didn't feel up to it. Served over egg noodles with warm caraway rye wheat bread, creamed spinach and Sauerkraut Salad (Joan Long Dixon - also on this site), this was a decent meal. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Rhonda :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This would have been good but it was so salty that I almost couldn't eat it! I will try making it again, because aside from the saltiness, it tasted pretty good. But next time, I'm omitting the salt and will probably add more sugar and use tomato sauce instead of ketchup. It wasn't very saucy and turned out a bit dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States