Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This goulash is the way I remember it. I used a combination of chuck roast cubed and stew meat. I used regular paprika. We ate it over egg noodles. It did turn out good. I think I would reduce the salt by half. I seem to be sensitive to salt. The amount of brown sugar was perfect as it was not too sweet. I didn't let it thicken long enough, though, and wish I had as the sauce was pretty runny. I don't know that I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
My husband loved this and asked me to keep this recipe. I thought it was pretty kids, but the kids didn't much care for it. I did follow the directions, but when i got home from work it looked like very little liquid was left in the crockpot so I added some beef broth and made the sauce from that. I will likely make this again. It was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good! I used stew meat because I got a deal. lol! i think it would be better with the chuck roast. i'll look for a deal on that for next time. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I used smoked paprika and omitted the brown sugar (the ketchup makes is sweet enough). It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This dish was easy, tasted very good, and was a nice change from our everyday fare. It was a tad too salty, so I'll reduce that a bit next time (could have been my measuring.) It even made tough stew meat tender and flavorful, much better than the regular beef, potatoes, and carrots stew I usually make. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Followed the recipe as directed. The meat was tender and it smelled wonderful. But, no one in the family liked it...flavor was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My husband told me to make sure I add a review and mark it 5 stars. He loved it. I made it for company and it was a big hit. It was made exactly as written and served over buttered egg noodles. Great recipe I'll be making many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is always a hit at my house. Even in the middle of summer, in the heat when all I want is something cool, folks request this dish. I add a little more brown sugar than is called for, and I load it up with potatoes, carrots, and parsnips (very important!!!). Nothing better than assembling at night, plugging in when I wake up, and then enjoying the ridiculous aroma in the house - and of course a wonderful dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was delicious. I, too, floured (seasoned with S & P) the meat and browned in oil before putting in the crock pot and it thicken nicely on its own. However, I wasn't crazy about the texture of the meat, it seemed dried out. I think my crock pot is on the hotter side. Next time I make this, and I will, I will try on top of the stove instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great for a busy family, put in the crock pot in the am and ready to go by dinner time. Taste even better than I remember just like mom used to make, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States