Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
One word -- WOW!! This was wonderful.. My wife is very picky as to what she eats and she couldn't get enough of it. I love to make new dishes and it thrills me to see her enjoy it so. This was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. Easy to make and not alot of ingredients. It was even better the next day! Reheats nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This recipe was very tasty. I doubled the pepper, because we like it very spicy, and I put in some potatoes the last hour of cooking. I don't think you need 1/3 cup of the oil, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuck in the suburbs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Yummy! I had never tasted Hungarian goulash before this, so I was pleasantly surprised. It makes a thick, beefy stew with a heavy dose of paprika. I think it would also be great with a few vegetables, like carrots and potatoes, but this way is probably the traditional way. The longer it stews, the better, so it doesn't qualify as quick. It's great for a cold drizzly fall day when you have nothing better to do than stay indoors, and cook up some comfort! We served it with Rhonda's Spaetzel, which was also very good. P.S. We just use enough oil to keep it from sticking, so it's probably not 1/3 cup, and we used half the amount of salt called for. We also passed on the sour cream garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Awesome--a big hit with the family--especially my husband. I had been looking for a goulash recipe for quite some time. I'm SO glad I found this one! It's almost too easy--I'll definitely make this again. I served this over wide egg noodles--delicious meal! (By the way, I only used 1/4 cup of oil.) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
It was very easy to make. But I found it not to be spicy at all. My son loved it though. We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This is a wonderful receipe. I added 1 can of beef broth and served this dish over nooodles -- wonderful! I will definitely make this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This is the best recipe I have ever used!! Everyone raved about it. I served it with homemade spatezle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Very nice, enjoyed this meal very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This was pretty good. I did not use 1/3 c. oil...just enough to keep it from sticking. Served over wide egg noodles along with poppyseed lemon muffins. We also added beef broth for part of the water as suggested in other comments and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States