Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Enjoyed this with just slight tweaking... To thicken the sauce I added very thinly diced potatoes which evaporated quickly and gave the desired thickness I was seeking without having to add flour. Also tripled (or more) the garlic and added a few shakes of crushed red pepper and parsley. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was fabulous and so easy to make. I made it to top off potato pancakes and make them a little more hearty. My husband ate the leftovers later with some rice and asked when I would make this again! That's a very good sign, he's a SUPER picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've never heard to put garlic and tomato sauce in gulash...and I am hungarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
It was okay. I'm not a big fan of dishes that don't have a lot of vegetables in them. Even though authentic HG does not have veggies, I would be inclined to add them. Of course, then I would not have HG, I would have stew. I don't think we are big fans of paprika. Like I said: It was okay. If I had ordered it at a restaurant, I would not have sent it back, but I would have made a mental note that it was not a dish favored enough to order it again. If I had to make it again, I would choose mashed potatoes (rather than noodles) as the accompanying starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Not as authentic as some other recipes. This recipe really needs much more paprika for a savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This goulash tastes just like my mothers. For a softer tomato flavor use tomato sauce. I cut the recipe in half & used one small can of tomato sauce. I increased the garlic a lot ... that's just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I make this recipe over and over. I cut way back on the salt. I use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. Four times the amount of garlic, which I sautee. And, I use Penzeys Half-Sharp Paprika combined with their Sweet Paprika. After everything is combined, I bake in the oven at a low temp. It comes out syrupy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
If you love tomatoe flavour, this is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
THANK YOU! My husband and I truly enjoyed this meal! I used beef broth and less oil but otherwise followed this recipe as written. I am trying new ideas for dinner now that my husband and I are empty nesters and this is a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is one of my daughter's favorite meals. I gently stir in 1/2 cup of sour cream when the meat is tender. Warm - do not boil and serve over buttered noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States