Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Perfect! Works every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Reminded me of childhood. Very flavorful and easy to make. I put it over egg noodles. The only thing I changed was I added 2 large spoons of brown sugar since I only had regular, not sweet paprika. Yum yum, especially a day later when the flavors were able to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This recipe was a big hit in my house tonight. I did make a few minor adjustments. I couldn't find Hungarian or sweet paprika so I used regular paprika and then just added a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar. I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil and used half of the amount called for (1/3 cup seemed like too much to me). I also added a beef boullion cube to the water and eliminated the extra salt. Served over extra broad egg noodles lightly buttered. Yum! I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was absolutely divine! I followed the recipe completely and it was perfect. Reminded me of the goulash I ate in Germany as a child. True comfort food! Making it again tonight, and my mouth is already watering!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Delicious and Easy! my husband loves it! I serve over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Love this. Everyone I've served it to has asked is this beef paprikash? i always say nope, Hungarian Goulash. I usually make homemade egg noodles from a recipe on here that I serve it over. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarita2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dillon, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is very delicious and forgiving at the same time. I did do things a little differently, but the result was delicious! I don't care for beef, so I used a pork roast, cut into pieces. I also substituted a 10 oz can of diced Italian tomatoes and 1 tbsp tomato paste in place of the 6 oz can of tomato paste. I used 4 cloves of garlic (personal preference) and 1 1/2 tbsp sweet paprika 1/2 tbsp hot paprika and beef broth in place of water. After I cooked onions, garlic and pork, I threw it all in the crockpot and simmered it all day. Served with rigatoni noodles. Delicious easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This tastes like straight up tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was as close to authentic goulash as I have seen. My family loved it. My 2 year old had 3 helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is very tasty, AND easy! To make it even easier, I use a dutch oven that can be put into the oven. I do all the steps up to where it simmers for 2 hours, then pop it in the oven. That way I don't have to keep an eye on it while it cooks. No stirring, etc. I set the oven to 300, covered the pot, and 2 hours later we had dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States