Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Never made Hungarian Goulash before. I don't like American Goulash so I guess I thought I might not like it. but then Richard Blais made it for Wolfgang Puck on Top Chef this week and I thought I'd try it. I'm so glad I did! Here's my small changes: I added a little more water. Actually I filled the tomato paste can 3 times... so if my math doesn't fail me that's 18 oz. of water and the recipe calls for 12 oz. I took the suggestion of one reviewer and only used 2 t salt but did end up adding just a little (abt 1/2 t) Paula Dean's House Seasoning (recipe: 1 cup salt, 1/4 cup black pepper, 1/4 cup garlic powder -- handy stuff to keep on hand -- that Paula's pretty smart) and a pinch of sugar. Served it over extra wide noodles. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Took the advice of a couple of the reviews and added some stuff and it was pretty tasty and we will be having this again. I added some vinegar, brown sugar, worchestshire, and extra paprika. We also topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakewoodlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
We didn't particularly care for this. Hubby said it was bland. I liked the consistency of the gravy, and despite being time consuming it was easy to assemble. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was amazing! Married with 3 teenagers , everyone loved this Hungarian goulash! Next time I'll need to double recipe, thier was not any left ! Thanks for the great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We added an additional can of small diced tomatoes and really enjoyed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptubbs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This dish was even better after it was frozen and reheated!!! WOW.. this is my new company dinner dish! I added a cup of good red wine and it really added a richness to the broth. Also served with buttered Reames egg noodles. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This tasted a lot like the goulash my mom made when I was growing up. Yum! I used regular paprika because it is all I had, but I thought it was great like that. I also replaced the beef with venison, which ended up being reasonably tender, though I didn't marinate it. I'm sure beef would have been falling-apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is an easy, cheap, and hearty recipe that has become a weekly staple in my home. It's the perfect thing for dinner on a cold Chicago night. The only tweak I make is that I chop the beef into smaller pieces -- probably about 3/4 inch cubes -- which helps it to cook a little quicker. I usually have to add a bit of water, 1/2 a cup or so. I do find that even with egg noodles, this is more like 4 servings for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States