Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I visited Budapest Hungary about one month ago and was craving some goulash. I tried this recipe and found it to be even better than some I had in Hungary. This recipe was amazingly easy and I followed it exactly as written. I served it over the homemade spatzel recipe that was on this site and had to have a moment it was sooooo good. Excellent and authentic recipe! Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Yes, have found this recipe easy to prepare with especially for me that I am cooking for 30 more or less crews on board. So i have found this interesting to prepare and cook and it saves time for me while doing the other menus of which probably am preparing 10 to 15 recipe in a day. I make Gnocchi which is served as my side dish for this lovely and delicious menu and our European crew loves this combination much. Am probably looking forward to add a photo of this, thanks to allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSTHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Not sure how this will turn out, and I made a lot of modifications in an attempt to be similar to an old family recipe. So I don't forget: 1 tsp kosher salt, 1 tbsp soya sauce, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 cup sweet paprika, 1/2 tsp ground black pepper, 3 large yellow onions in small wedges, 2lbs stewing beef, 1 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was fabulous! I have been looking for more good slow cooker recipes, and this is a good one. Another goulash recipe called for smoked paprika, which I love, so I used that instead of sweet paprika to coat the meat. I also deglazed the pan with white wine I had around, added 3 carrots cut in a large dice, and used a can of tomato sauce because I was out of paste. It cooked all afternoon in the slow cooker, and I did have to add another cup of water near the end of cooking. I served over egg noodles with a dollop of sour cream on top and a sprinkling of parsley. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was very good. I used flank steak since that's what I had on hand and Spanish smoked paprika (also what I had on hand). I added a little bit of brown sugar since I didn't use the sweet paprika, and used 1/4 cup of wine in place of some of the water to give it that wine reduction richness I love. This would be wonderful served over homemade spaetzle but I wasn't that motivated, so served over buttered egg noodles. You probably do not need quite a smuch oil as this calls for. I am also partial to very salty foods but felt 3 tsp. was way too much so I cut it back, then decided it was perfect. For those with less salty tastes, I'd use half the salt and add it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Use a good chuck roast cut up at home. Makes all the difference in recipe consistancy. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I tend to use a whole lot more paprika than this calls for, but this is otherwise a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Basic recipe is good but I changed it up a bit first. I used 2 cups of spicey salsa to this dish instead of water and added 1 cup of cut up celery for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Blue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States