Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I added beef broth instead of water and I cooked it in the crockpot. It was pretty good but my husband wasn't crazy about it. I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Thank you - brought back memories for my husband who lost his Hungarian Mother a couple years ago. It actually made him cry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Could not be easier! Used a rump roast, still slightly frozen, which made cubing it a good bit easier. Per other reviews, used 1 c. beef broth, 1/4 c red wine and 1/4 c water. Added 1 tsp worcestershire sauce. Slow simmered for 3 hours. Meat was quite tender, and sauce is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
The excessive amount of salt called for in this recipe ruined the dish. So, cut waaayyy back on the salt, add a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and make sure to use Hungarian sweet paprika, and just like that you have a delicious five star goulash dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
One thing about this site that is a plus is the reviews. I made this a while back, but not before reading the comments, so I cut back on the salt, used some beef broth in place of water and less oil. I've always loved a good goulash. As a kid growing up, the older ladies of our extended family and a lot of the neighborhood ladies, all made some form of goulash. I think the ones I liked best were those that added a few veggies like you would in making a stew. Rutabaga's, turnips, carrots, cubed baby red potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Kramer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
IT'S GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaposvari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
The one thing that you do NOT do with paprika in goulash, is, you do not put the paprika in whilst you are frying the meat! The paprika burns and tastes bitter, spoiling the rest of the meal! If you like it with a burnt and salty taste, then this is for you. I put the paprika in with the onions, just before the rest of the ingredients, and stirred it in. I then put in a can of peeled tomatoes, with only a good squeeze of tomato paste, no salt, no water. After one hour, I checked the broth and adjusted the taste by adding salt. You can adjust the tomato paste then as well as add a small amount of hot Hungarian paprika if you like. If the goulash is too thick, you can add some beef or chicken stock. Just to set the record straight, this is not really goulash. Goulash is a soup. The Hungarian name for this stew is "Pörkölt". Other than that, the recipe is good although salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Weinhardt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have seen this recipe posted by Allrecipes before and the first time I bit my lip and didn't comment. The signature spice for goulash is caraway. That is what makes goulash, goulash. Without caraway, it's beef stew with paprika. I have traveled in the region and goulash is somewhere between a soup and a stew. Yours would be way too thick to be considered goulash. I love goulash, but your recipe is for beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I gave this recipe 4 stars, only because I modified it a bit. I left out 'those' 2 teaspoons of salt, and only used 1 tsp. in the entire recipe,(but if you're on a sodium restricted diet....leave out the salt (altogether).. since the tomato paste already contains a large amount of sodium. Also, I used Low-Sodium Beef Broth instead of plain water, and I added in some (fresh) chopped Italian Parsley into the dish, and a bit more on top when I served it. It was very tasty this way, and I'll definately make it often throughout the cold winter months to come... as it's a very tasty & comforting dish. I served it with a 'side' (dish) of Buttered & Herbed Egg Noodles, and it was a huge hit with my family, & also with my brother & sister-in-law (who are very pickey eaters.) Please try it this way, and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Eva, you may be more familiar with goulash soup than stew, but there are a lot of variations. It may be a soup or a stew, and it is frequently served with a pasta like product that is cooked in it. Also it may have potatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States