Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was great! I used my slow cooker for this :) I put all the ingredients at once and cooked for 7 hrs on low. I probably should have done 6 hrs. The taste was amazing and the meat was cooked almost to perfection! I eliminated the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made this the other night and found it to be lacking in flavor once you added the noodles. My husband said it was tasteless. Don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I found this recipe to be a little bland. I guess I messed it up by covering it to simmer. It was vry watery and not much flavor but very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I was excited about this recipe but I tasted it and thought it was ok, but I was lacking flavor so I added some red wine and upped the tomato paste to 1 1/2 times what they call for. Lso cut down the extra salt. Also chopped carrots and chopped cabbage the last 20 minutes, and added a packet of any beef stew mix and some ketchup. I also was making this for a serving of 12, so one packet of beef stew mix was plenty. Once the stew mix goes in it has a tendancy to burn, so very low heat and lots of stirring. This is now my signature dish for whenever I have to make a meal for a family in need and when I have guests over. Everyone always wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I have made this twice now and I love it. The second time I did increase the garlic to three cloves but that is personal preference. I could eat my weight in this, although I probably shouldn't ;^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I visited Budapest Hungary about one month ago and was craving some goulash. I tried this recipe and found it to be even better than some I had in Hungary. This recipe was amazingly easy and I followed it exactly as written. I served it over the homemade spatzel recipe that was on this site and had to have a moment it was sooooo good. Excellent and authentic recipe! Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Yes, have found this recipe easy to prepare with especially for me that I am cooking for 30 more or less crews on board. So i have found this interesting to prepare and cook and it saves time for me while doing the other menus of which probably am preparing 10 to 15 recipe in a day. I make Gnocchi which is served as my side dish for this lovely and delicious menu and our European crew loves this combination much. Am probably looking forward to add a photo of this, thanks to allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSTHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Not sure how this will turn out, and I made a lot of modifications in an attempt to be similar to an old family recipe. So I don't forget: 1 tsp kosher salt, 1 tbsp soya sauce, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 cup sweet paprika, 1/2 tsp ground black pepper, 3 large yellow onions in small wedges, 2lbs stewing beef, 1 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was fabulous! I have been looking for more good slow cooker recipes, and this is a good one. Another goulash recipe called for smoked paprika, which I love, so I used that instead of sweet paprika to coat the meat. I also deglazed the pan with white wine I had around, added 3 carrots cut in a large dice, and used a can of tomato sauce because I was out of paste. It cooked all afternoon in the slow cooker, and I did have to add another cup of water near the end of cooking. I served over egg noodles with a dollop of sour cream on top and a sprinkling of parsley. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was very good. I used flank steak since that's what I had on hand and Spanish smoked paprika (also what I had on hand). I added a little bit of brown sugar since I didn't use the sweet paprika, and used 1/4 cup of wine in place of some of the water to give it that wine reduction richness I love. This would be wonderful served over homemade spaetzle but I wasn't that motivated, so served over buttered egg noodles. You probably do not need quite a smuch oil as this calls for. I am also partial to very salty foods but felt 3 tsp. was way too much so I cut it back, then decided it was perfect. For those with less salty tastes, I'd use half the salt and add it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States