Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I gave this recipe 4 stars, only because I modified it a bit. I left out 'those' 2 teaspoons of salt, and only used 1 tsp. in the entire recipe,(but if you're on a sodium restricted diet....leave out the salt (altogether).. since the tomato paste already contains a large amount of sodium. Also, I used Low-Sodium Beef Broth instead of plain water, and I added in some (fresh) chopped Italian Parsley into the dish, and a bit more on top when I served it. It was very tasty this way, and I'll definately make it often throughout the cold winter months to come... as it's a very tasty & comforting dish. I served it with a 'side' (dish) of Buttered & Herbed Egg Noodles, and it was a huge hit with my family, & also with my brother & sister-in-law (who are very pickey eaters.) Please try it this way, and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Eva, you may be more familiar with goulash soup than stew, but there are a lot of variations. It may be a soup or a stew, and it is frequently served with a pasta like product that is cooked in it. Also it may have potatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
My review is, unfortunately, not wholly representative of this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, but I couldn't access Hungarian Paprika, so I used smoke paprika (I know, it's not the same). Nevertheless, I LOVED the way it turned out. I hope to get hold of Hungarian Paprika to try the authentic recipe. In the meantime, I have dubbed my alteration "Spanish inspired Hungarian goulash".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Good basic recipe. I had to adjust it to my taste (cut tomato paste in half, replace water with beef broth, add flour to thicken the sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Didn't change a thing; it tasted as delicious as it smelled while simmering! The entire family loved it. Will be certain to make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I am Hungarian and I make this dish quite often. However we do not call this goulash, just beef stew. We call goulash only the soup version. Indeed this dish can be done in many different ways. With all due respect I would like to add some comments on how you can make it better (just in my point of view). First of all it is said that you have to add the same quantity (in weight) of onions as you add of meat. So if you make goulash from 3 pounds you need to add at least six big onions or more. It makes the gravy thicker and better. From the garlic you need to add at least a whole one not just a clove. You don't need to mince it because of the long cooking time. Just chop one clove to three-four pieces. Please do not add tomato paste, instead add two or three tomato. I recommend to add two sliced carrots to this quantity of meat. This dish is best when it is a bit hot, so add some chilli to it. Also it is very advisable to add red wine, half pint to this quantity of meat. Carrots and garlic can be put in the pot after 45 mins. Tomato and chilli after one hour. Half of the red wine after 1 and a half hours, second half after a hour and 45 mins from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommy2skye
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is a recipe my while family loved !! I changed a few things .. I added tomatoes 2 ! Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was a big hit for my European visitors. only changes were I added 2 tablespoons flour to coat the cubes w paprika. It will make a slightly crusted sear and not steam the meat, plus with thicken the stew gravey. Use a chuck roast if you can get it and cut into cubes! Add the tomatoe paste first and stir 15-20 secs to get rid of the tinny taste before adding the onlions and remaining ingredients. Served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious recipe! Even with a leaner cut of stewing beef, it turned out very tender and flavourful with around 3 hours of cook time. Modifications I made: cut down to 1 tsp of salt, added 3 cloves of garlic, added 3 fresh tomatoes (chopped) in addition to tomato paste (reduced water to 1/2 cup only because of the water the tomatoes give out), added a splash of Worcestershire sauce, and used regular paprika because I didn't have Hungarian sweet paprika (and added around 1 tbsp of white sugar for some sweetness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
we loved it. adjusted for 4. added a whole can of paste and a little more water for the extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States