Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
The only modification I did was adding about 1 Tablespoon of normal paprika. After cooking, I tasted the final product and was not very pleased. Once I served it, I did add dinner salt and pepper (which I never add after cooking) and it tasted pretty good. I will continue to look for another Goulash recipe but this is still a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
added extra spices for a stronger flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
CUT BACK ON THE SALT Only rating it five stars because I think most people will read the comments and notice that there is way too much salt in this recipe for most tastes. I used one teaspoon and the salt was still noticeable but not enough to interfere with the dish. And I even used a tomato paste (Contadina) that had much less salt than others (Hunts, store brand). I had top sirloin, so I used that and it turned out very tender and tasty. I only had a little over a pound of meat, but I left the liquids all the same and put some carrots (added with the liquids) and cauliflower (added near the end) in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was pretty good, I followed the recipe exactly, I felt it was missing some flavor, but then again I was comparing the taste that I remember when my Mom use to make it. Thanks for the reciipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very good! My father's side is Hungarian and this tastes very much like comfott food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Delicious! Serve over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Excellent but luckily i noticed there was in the recipe as a whole 16g's of salt so i reduced it to a pinch of salt n thoroughly enjoyed it and have recommended to my daughters, who both said was deffiantley a 5 star. ty Debz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I love goulash, and I like that this recipe uses tomato paste, as it intensifies the paprika and gives it a good consistency. I used a tablespoon of butter to saute the onions and added potatoes and carrots, to make it sweeter and heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Better than goulash we had at a German restaurant a couple of weeks ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Delicious. Great to feed a crowd. Serve with egg noodles and gr beans with butter, onion, & garlic. Crisp bread & buter completes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States