Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is one of my daughter's favorite meals. I gently stir in 1/2 cup of sour cream when the meat is tender. Warm - do not boil and serve over buttered noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and followed the recipe to a T. Ended up cooking it on low heat for 3 hours, and it was amazing. My teenage son had three helpings. Served it with mashed potatoes and green peas. Very tasy, well balanced dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very good dish. I added a green pepper and used more paprika. Everyone loved it. Next time I will try the smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
My husband and I both thought this was on the bland side, and my husband likes his food more bland than me. I followed some reviewers tips and used beef broth instead of water, and I also added a touch of brown sugar, but the flavor just wasn't all there. It needed something more, but I don't know what...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe! I add a bay leaf and sometimes a bit extra paprika, but otherwise would not make any changes. Look for the Hungarian smoked paprika in a spice shop, that is what makes this recipe so good. Even the leftover sauce is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and added 1/2 lb. sliced mushrooms, 1 T. capers, 1/3 cup green olives, and increased tomato paste to 1 6 oz. can. I served it over rice and made a yummy Mediterrean dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Made this twice now. Second time made in the pressure cooker because of time constraints. Its a very easy recipe, and we enjoyed. Not sure how authentic it is, since I don't know that I've ever had an authentic hungarian goulash. Its tasty, but we all thought it needed a little something, but not sure what. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Head

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made it a few times now. The last time I made it, I accidentally pulled ground beef out of the freezer instead of the stew meat. I decided to go ahead with the recipe anyways, just browned the ground beef and then added the spices. Instead of serving over egg noodles like usual, I mixed cooked macaroni right into the mixture. Also, i like to top this with a dollop of sour cream. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The food is delicious but it’s not goulash! Goulash (gulyas) is a soup, this is a stew. Also, waste of time to remove the onion. No need for that at all. I was born and raised in Hungary, cooked and watched many ladies cook stew. Don’t remove the onion, and we never put tomato paste or puree in our stew. IF it’s the season, we might put a yellow or green pepper (called bell pepper here) and 1 ripe tomato in the stew. You can use the same base, the same recipe, and change up the meat. Try it with chicken (any part of it) or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Simply delicious, a real treat! I winged it a little on both the cooking method and ingredients but not so much that it significantly changed the recipe. For instance, I added more paprika and garlic, added a little flour to thicken, and used chicken broth for the water, nearly double the amount called for. I added some mixed, chopped bell peppers and fresh sliced mushrooms which proved to be a flavorful plus. Rather than simmering this on the stove I transferred it to the oven and cooked it at 325 degrees for 2 hours. The wonderful aroma while this was cooking was such a tease, but the result was well worth the wait. The meat was fork tender and the sauce richly flavored. I served this over buttered egg noodles with a dollop of sour cream and sprinkle of fresh minced parsley. Even after supper hubs was still raving about it! A definite "make again" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States