Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
terrible--way TOO tomatoiy--"sp" I've had far better--last time for this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I did not have tomato paste - used one can tomato's and tomato sause. Added also some mushrooms. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potzel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Pretty good basic recipe. I used bacon drippings to saute the onions and beef (my husband's Hungarian family uses LOTS of bacon) and used beef stock instead of water. I eliminated the salt and increased the paprika (used probably about 4 TBS, using half sweet Hungarian and half smoked Spanish, and also used 4 cloves garlic (we really like garlic!). I served it over buttered egg noodles. It was good but we felt it was missing something. I may continue to tweak for our tastes or serve over something more flavorful than plain egg noodles next time. The beef was fall-apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
VERY good. Not a five star, but definitely a solid four. My fiance grew up on his mother's goulash and- much to my dismay- I've never been able to replicate it. I learned the hard way that goulash is like paella, chili, or turkey stuffing- EVERY family has their own recipe, and THEIR's is right! Fortunately this one was tasty enough to compete with "Mom's".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was good and really easy. I put it in my crockpot and let it cook all day. I only added 1/2 extra cup of water because I added a 1 lb. bag of baby carrots to the crockpot. I was tempted to add another can of tomato paste, but I fought that urge, and I'm glad I did. (Ha ha). As everything got a chance to cook together, the sauce thickened and it was just the right amount of tomato. Served with spaetzle noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was very easy and surprisingly delicious. I'm going to make it for a Hungarian I know. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Even after cooking for the stated amount of time, some meat was still tough. Perhaps this is best in crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
From a Hungarian friend who is 100 yrs old, add 1/2 seeded,chopped green bell pepper and 1 whole chopped ,seeded tomato instead of canned tomato. Stir in 1/2 C sour cream before serving. Serve with roasted potatoes,green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Scrumptious! I followed another reviewers instructions for making this in the crockpot and it came out great (and it was my first time making goulash)! I used beef broth and less salt like others here. I added a little soy and extra paprika at the end to taste and served with spaetzle. The husband raved about it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
My first attempt and I loved it. Definitely a keeper! My kids didn't but what do they know, they're kids! LOL The only change I made was I used beef stock instead of the water and I floured the beef before I browned it. I had to use a little more stock because I found the sauce too thick but oh my goodness. Well worth the time for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States