Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
We didn't particularly care for this. Hubby said it was bland. I liked the consistency of the gravy, and despite being time consuming it was easy to assemble. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was amazing! Married with 3 teenagers , everyone loved this Hungarian goulash! Next time I'll need to double recipe, thier was not any left ! Thanks for the great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We added an additional can of small diced tomatoes and really enjoyed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Tubbs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This dish was even better after it was frozen and reheated!!! WOW.. this is my new company dinner dish! I added a cup of good red wine and it really added a richness to the broth. Also served with buttered Reames egg noodles. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This tasted a lot like the goulash my mom made when I was growing up. Yum! I used regular paprika because it is all I had, but I thought it was great like that. I also replaced the beef with venison, which ended up being reasonably tender, though I didn't marinate it. I'm sure beef would have been falling-apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is an easy, cheap, and hearty recipe that has become a weekly staple in my home. It's the perfect thing for dinner on a cold Chicago night. The only tweak I make is that I chop the beef into smaller pieces -- probably about 3/4 inch cubes -- which helps it to cook a little quicker. I usually have to add a bit of water, 1/2 a cup or so. I do find that even with egg noodles, this is more like 4 servings for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Enjoyed this with just slight tweaking... To thicken the sauce I added very thinly diced potatoes which evaporated quickly and gave the desired thickness I was seeking without having to add flour. Also tripled (or more) the garlic and added a few shakes of crushed red pepper and parsley. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was fabulous and so easy to make. I made it to top off potato pancakes and make them a little more hearty. My husband ate the leftovers later with some rice and asked when I would make this again! That's a very good sign, he's a SUPER picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've never heard to put garlic and tomato sauce in gulash...and I am hungarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
It was okay. I'm not a big fan of dishes that don't have a lot of vegetables in them. Even though authentic HG does not have veggies, I would be inclined to add them. Of course, then I would not have HG, I would have stew. I don't think we are big fans of paprika. Like I said: It was okay. If I had ordered it at a restaurant, I would not have sent it back, but I would have made a mental note that it was not a dish favored enough to order it again. If I had to make it again, I would choose mashed potatoes (rather than noodles) as the accompanying starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States