Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Pretty good basic recipe. I used bacon drippings to saute the onions and beef (my husband's Hungarian family uses LOTS of bacon) and used beef stock instead of water. I eliminated the salt and increased the paprika (used probably about 4 TBS, using half sweet Hungarian and half smoked Spanish, and also used 4 cloves garlic (we really like garlic!). I served it over buttered egg noodles. It was good but we felt it was missing something. I may continue to tweak for our tastes or serve over something more flavorful than plain egg noodles next time. The beef was fall-apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
VERY good. Not a five star, but definitely a solid four. My fiance grew up on his mother's goulash and- much to my dismay- I've never been able to replicate it. I learned the hard way that goulash is like paella, chili, or turkey stuffing- EVERY family has their own recipe, and THEIR's is right! Fortunately this one was tasty enough to compete with "Mom's".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was good and really easy. I put it in my crockpot and let it cook all day. I only added 1/2 extra cup of water because I added a 1 lb. bag of baby carrots to the crockpot. I was tempted to add another can of tomato paste, but I fought that urge, and I'm glad I did. (Ha ha). As everything got a chance to cook together, the sauce thickened and it was just the right amount of tomato. Served with spaetzle noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was very easy and surprisingly delicious. I'm going to make it for a Hungarian I know. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Even after cooking for the stated amount of time, some meat was still tough. Perhaps this is best in crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
From a Hungarian friend who is 100 yrs old, add 1/2 seeded,chopped green bell pepper and 1 whole chopped ,seeded tomato instead of canned tomato. Stir in 1/2 C sour cream before serving. Serve with roasted potatoes,green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Scrumptious! I followed another reviewers instructions for making this in the crockpot and it came out great (and it was my first time making goulash)! I used beef broth and less salt like others here. I added a little soy and extra paprika at the end to taste and served with spaetzle. The husband raved about it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
My first attempt and I loved it. Definitely a keeper! My kids didn't but what do they know, they're kids! LOL The only change I made was I used beef stock instead of the water and I floured the beef before I browned it. I had to use a little more stock because I found the sauce too thick but oh my goodness. Well worth the time for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
having recently returned from krakow,and ate a delightful goulas i was eager to try the receipe. I changed it slightly after reading the reviews, i use pork loin (as in krakow)couldnt find sweet paprika so used standard 3tbsp, added sweet red pepper and i orange pepper, i also omitted the sour cream. i simmered it for about 11/2 hours in a wok,dont have a dutch oven,even my picky kids loved it,am now on the hunt for sweet paprika. highly recommended dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I thought this was kind of bland- it was missing a depth of flavor- we tasted flavor on the first bite, but then it was just GONE. I even used real Hungarian paprika- from Hungary! Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States