Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This dish was even better after it was frozen and reheated!!! WOW.. this is my new company dinner dish! I added a cup of good red wine and it really added a richness to the broth. Also served with buttered Reames egg noodles. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This tasted a lot like the goulash my mom made when I was growing up. Yum! I used regular paprika because it is all I had, but I thought it was great like that. I also replaced the beef with venison, which ended up being reasonably tender, though I didn't marinate it. I'm sure beef would have been falling-apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is an easy, cheap, and hearty recipe that has become a weekly staple in my home. It's the perfect thing for dinner on a cold Chicago night. The only tweak I make is that I chop the beef into smaller pieces -- probably about 3/4 inch cubes -- which helps it to cook a little quicker. I usually have to add a bit of water, 1/2 a cup or so. I do find that even with egg noodles, this is more like 4 servings for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Enjoyed this with just slight tweaking... To thicken the sauce I added very thinly diced potatoes which evaporated quickly and gave the desired thickness I was seeking without having to add flour. Also tripled (or more) the garlic and added a few shakes of crushed red pepper and parsley. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was fabulous and so easy to make. I made it to top off potato pancakes and make them a little more hearty. My husband ate the leftovers later with some rice and asked when I would make this again! That's a very good sign, he's a SUPER picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've never heard to put garlic and tomato sauce in gulash...and I am hungarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
It was okay. I'm not a big fan of dishes that don't have a lot of vegetables in them. Even though authentic HG does not have veggies, I would be inclined to add them. Of course, then I would not have HG, I would have stew. I don't think we are big fans of paprika. Like I said: It was okay. If I had ordered it at a restaurant, I would not have sent it back, but I would have made a mental note that it was not a dish favored enough to order it again. If I had to make it again, I would choose mashed potatoes (rather than noodles) as the accompanying starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Not as authentic as some other recipes. This recipe really needs much more paprika for a savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This goulash tastes just like my mothers. For a softer tomato flavor use tomato sauce. I cut the recipe in half & used one small can of tomato sauce. I increased the garlic a lot ... that's just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I make this recipe over and over. I cut way back on the salt. I use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. Four times the amount of garlic, which I sautee. And, I use Penzeys Half-Sharp Paprika combined with their Sweet Paprika. After everything is combined, I bake in the oven at a low temp. It comes out syrupy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States