Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Garage Sale Anyone?????????? At a loss for words and taste. Sorry it was awful I tried this again and added peppers and ground beef. Now I rate this 4 stars, My beef cubes must have had not enough fat in them and the second time was just delicious. Sorry if I was harsh at first but it was the bad meat notyour recipe. Perhaps it was just a bad cook myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was good. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out very nice. Pretty easy to do and economical to boot. Next time I will add a little more garlic and a pinch more salt and pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
We enjoyed this dish. I used a chuck roast and this was really budget friendly served with buttered parsleyed egg noodles and a dollop of sour cream on top. My teen even went back for seconds. I only used 2 onions as they were large Texas Sweets. Thanks this was pretty good. Not my favorite, but it was good for such an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is already a fantastic meal , but you should try it by taking the egg noodles when almost done then coating the with cornmeal and frying them in butter untill starting to turn brown,this just adds a bit more flavor to the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
My Maternal Grandmother came from the Banat region of Europe and this is the real deal! Unfortunately mom and grandma had this recipe stored in their heads and did not write it down for me, but one taste of this and memories returned!! I remember them adding a touch of green pepper to theirs occasionally. You can make this with Chicken, too. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blpulido

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Meh. This was good, but certainly not "great" IMHO. I made this for dinner and halved the recipe for my fiance and I last week. While we both thought this was fine, we agreed it was really lacking in flavor. I guess we just prefer sweet goulash, so the search continues (and there are PLENTY of goulash recipes on here to try!). I must say that prep couldn't be easier (and this dish is relatively inexpensive to prepare too - you don't need top quality meat since it will tenderize plenty if slowly cooked as the recipe directs). As if prep wasn't easy enough... in order to save a bowl, I tossed my salt, pepper and paprika in a large Zip-lock bag, added the meat and SHOOK LIKE CRAZY! I ended up placing my seasoned meat in the fridge for an hour or so, until I was ready to prepare dinner (which I think was a good idea btw...). My only complaint (other than lack of flavor) is the oiliness factor - I suggest cutting back quite a bit on the oil. I also suggest using the BEST Hungarian paprika you can find (I purchased a small amount at my local spice shop relatively cheap). Served over spatzle tossed with butter and fresh parsley, a side salad drizzled with DC Girly Girl's Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette (a MUST try!!!) and caraway rye bread on the side, this was a VERY filling and comforting meal. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was excellent. I made it exactly as the recipe said, only I did add 3 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce and 2 Tbsp ketchup to it, as someone else suggested. I served it on rice instead of noodles, as that's what my (Latino) husband prefers. It took my meat 2 1/2 hours to cook. I used chuck - so do factor that into the cooking time. Oh, yeah. I did add two carrots, 20 minutes before the end of the cooking time which I had previously peeled and cut into large chunks. I guess I'd been remembering the goulash my mom made when I was a kid. Too bad I don't have her recipe, but this will do instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
The only modification I did was adding about 1 Tablespoon of normal paprika. After cooking, I tasted the final product and was not very pleased. Once I served it, I did add dinner salt and pepper (which I never add after cooking) and it tasted pretty good. I will continue to look for another Goulash recipe but this is still a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
added extra spices for a stronger flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
CUT BACK ON THE SALT Only rating it five stars because I think most people will read the comments and notice that there is way too much salt in this recipe for most tastes. I used one teaspoon and the salt was still noticeable but not enough to interfere with the dish. And I even used a tomato paste (Contadina) that had much less salt than others (Hunts, store brand). I had top sirloin, so I used that and it turned out very tender and tasty. I only had a little over a pound of meat, but I left the liquids all the same and put some carrots (added with the liquids) and cauliflower (added near the end) in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States