Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and added 1/2 lb. sliced mushrooms, 1 T. capers, 1/3 cup green olives, and increased tomato paste to 1 6 oz. can. I served it over rice and made a yummy Mediterrean dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Made this twice now. Second time made in the pressure cooker because of time constraints. Its a very easy recipe, and we enjoyed. Not sure how authentic it is, since I don't know that I've ever had an authentic hungarian goulash. Its tasty, but we all thought it needed a little something, but not sure what. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Head

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made it a few times now. The last time I made it, I accidentally pulled ground beef out of the freezer instead of the stew meat. I decided to go ahead with the recipe anyways, just browned the ground beef and then added the spices. Instead of serving over egg noodles like usual, I mixed cooked macaroni right into the mixture. Also, i like to top this with a dollop of sour cream. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The food is delicious but it’s not goulash! Goulash (gulyas) is a soup, this is a stew. Also, waste of time to remove the onion. No need for that at all. I was born and raised in Hungary, cooked and watched many ladies cook stew. Don’t remove the onion, and we never put tomato paste or puree in our stew. IF it’s the season, we might put a yellow or green pepper (called bell pepper here) and 1 ripe tomato in the stew. You can use the same base, the same recipe, and change up the meat. Try it with chicken (any part of it) or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Simply delicious, a real treat! I winged it a little on both the cooking method and ingredients but not so much that it significantly changed the recipe. For instance, I added more paprika and garlic, added a little flour to thicken, and used chicken broth for the water, nearly double the amount called for. I added some mixed, chopped bell peppers and fresh sliced mushrooms which proved to be a flavorful plus. Rather than simmering this on the stove I transferred it to the oven and cooked it at 325 degrees for 2 hours. The wonderful aroma while this was cooking was such a tease, but the result was well worth the wait. The meat was fork tender and the sauce richly flavored. I served this over buttered egg noodles with a dollop of sour cream and sprinkle of fresh minced parsley. Even after supper hubs was still raving about it! A definite "make again" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Great meal to make when time is short. I added a cup of sour cream before serving to make it a little creamy and it turned out great. Also, be sure to use the highest quality, freshest paprika. It will make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight, and we loved it! That is saying a lot with my picky kids. I was so pleased with the flavors. I omitted the oil completely and just used a bit of cooking spray when cooking the onions. This one will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vabeachgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I use this recipe all the time when i decide to make hungarian goulish and it's very good and my husband loves it too. And the sweet hungarian paprika you can get it at a spice shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Garage Sale Anyone?????????? At a loss for words and taste. Sorry it was awful I tried this again and added peppers and ground beef. Now I rate this 4 stars, My beef cubes must have had not enough fat in them and the second time was just delicious. Sorry if I was harsh at first but it was the bad meat notyour recipe. Perhaps it was just a bad cook myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States