Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
simple and flavorful dish. made it exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Recipe turned out well. I used beef broth instead of water and did most of the salting at the table to avoid the saltiness warned of in some reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Awesome! I followed the recipe to the letter (including the addition of the salt) and it came out perfectly. Too often people "tweak" recipes to make them their own. This one does NOT need tweaking. Make it as is and you will have an authentic Goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Love it!! I used London broil and venison meat and hot Hungarian paprika. Five Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Fabulous! I tweeked it slightly.. after browning the meat while pan is hot I throw in a splash of red wine (I don't measure, but I'd say 1/4 cup maybe), stir to loosen the pan drippings, then pour over meat. I agree with other reviews to only use 2 tsp salt. 3 makes it too salty even for a salt-fiend like me. Everyone I have served it to has raved about the taste. Also, I have cooked it in the slow cooker - about 4 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
With my little adjustments it tasted great, better than my mom's! In general, the recipe is very good: right proportions, right directions, tasted like my mom used to cook when we were kids: we are originally from Europe and not foreigners to European cuisine. However, I managed to improve my mom's perfection :). So, my changes: I added about 6 Tbsp. of dry red wine, 3 dashes of smoked paprika, and increase amount of tomato paste by 30%. The taste and texture turned very nice and reach. Also, one adding I am going to continue practicing: I cooked beef on the hot pan with olive oil for a short time until it is brown on both sides, transferred to crockpot, added the rest of the ingredients, left it be for 4 hours on high and went for a hike with my honey. When we were back refreshed and hungry, all I had to make is mashed potato (do not forget crushed garlic!). Voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Simple and really good over egg noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Guarducci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I followed the recipe although I did add a little more water and 1/2 tsp of hot paprika along with the sweet, it was delicious with a big dollop of sour cream, served with Sobeys Sensations (in Canada) extra broad German egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This was very good. We wanted to lick the pan!! I did add a T worchestire and a T brown sugar as in other suggestions, and more paprika! Just shook some in. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
First time ever making goulash and I must say that it does need the sour cream. I kept in on low for the afternoon and the beef was nice and tender. This is an easy recipe and quite tasty. Thanks ENVIRO2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States