Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Thank you Laura for submitting this recipe!! I have just made it as a birthday cake and turned out extremely well. Like the others, I thought it best cut into two layers as it was quite crumbley. My cake wasn't dry though!! I did use two more eggs than the recipe suggested which made it extremely light, I also added a little coffee flavour and fine sugar to the cream and the combination with the nuts is really nice. I'll definately make this cake again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Excellent recipie, turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Thank you for this delicious recipe! It's an excellent birthday treat. The cake turned out moist, but I added rum anyway - it certainly didn't hurt! I also added rum and vanilla sugar to the whipped cream and raisins in the layers between the cake. It was a huge sucsess, and utterly thrilled my friends with wheat allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This is a fabulous torte. I've made it several times and it has been perfect EVERY time. I do "sift" the hazelnuts using a colendar to be sure the nuts are fine enough. I've also made it using almonds instead of hazelnuts. (12 oz equals 2 1/2 c. nuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
One of my absolute favorites! I have used both almonds and hazelnuts… I can’t decide which I like better. My only adjustment is to leave it in one layer, then serve with a dollop of whipped cream and a sprinkle of nuts. (A little less work for the cook!) Thanks, Laura, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this for Christmas dessert this year. A few comments, when I mixed the ground nuts (you can buy them pre-ground) into the yolks, it turned into a hard lump making gently folding the whites impossible. Next time I'll fold the nuts into the whites then into the yolks. I used two 9" round pans (lined the bottom with parchment) and baked them for 45 minutes (no springform pan, but this worked great.) To the whipped cream I added 4 tbs powdered sugar and 4 tbs Godiva liqueur. Awesome dessert! My husband says it's his new favorite (he is very picky, not a sweets eater.) Though, he thought a little rum soaked into the cakes would be a good addition. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe and a huge hit with my mom who has allergies to flour. I used almonds instead of hazelnuts and put strawberries and whipped cream in the layers. I found it only needed 60 minutes and was very moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This has a delicious hazelnut flavor, and was surprisingly easy to make. It's also very healthy, for a cake! I used farm eggs, so I actually needed nine eggs to make it workable. I started with seven separated, but the nuts and yolks formed a dense ball that was difficult to work with, so I wound up adding two whole eggs to the mixture before folding in the whites. So if you find yourself in that position, just add more eggs until it softens up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Thank goodness someone is drawing attention to the traditional Hungarian torte recipes. These flourless "tortes" are NOT easy to make and if you can master them---you will forever long for tortes and scowl at those "common" flour cakes! I grew up eating these cakes and they are splendid--as is this one. It DOES take practice to master these--and they are worth it. The secret of tortes are many, many light layers and lots of air being beaten into the batter. Bakers are no longer taught these old baking techniques as these cakes commonly used 16 to 24 egg whites each and ground nuts for batter---which equates to very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States