Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Took Lyonesskim's suggestion and added 1 whole egg to the VERY stiff batter before folding in the egg whites. I used hazelnuts and drizzled with Amaretto -- delicious! I think Frangelico would heighten the hazelnut experience, while Amaretto would be better paired with an almond variation. I'll make this again and again--it is a real winner! The impressive factor is greater than the level of difficulty; my only problem was cutting into 3 layers--I managed, but the middle layer was a thing of shreds and patches. This is a recurring problem for me--any suggestions out there? Finally, I used the Stabilized Whipped Cream sent by Ethelmertz, flavored with Amaretto, and got oohs and aahs from around the table, and isn't that what baking is really all about?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is so my mother-in-laws Nut Torte cake! She got it from her mother-in-law who was Hungarian over 50 years ago! This is also the birthday cake she makes for all of us! Sometimes it is 2 layers and other times it is 3 layers. I love this cake. She frost it with frosting that is cooked on the stove. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Absolutely amazing and easy to make. My two omas always made this cake and for that reason I always thought that it must be a complicated recipe. Now I know why they always made it, it's easy and delicious...the perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rie1975
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I only tried this recipe because I wanted to make a dessert for a gluten-free friend of mine. I am so glad I did! I will make this again for sure! I substituted almonds for the hazelnuts, divided the batter into two 9 inch cake pans.(so I didn't have to cut it) and then I frosted it with chocolate buttercream. OMG! YUMMY! I will be making this again; I didn't miss the flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rie1975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
this was a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was delicious! Very different from the average "cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I loved this cake, as did my Christmas company! One thing I would change is the final product. Because I could only cut it into two layers--and because when you cover with whipped cream you are committed to keeping it cold and/or must eat it right away--I will leave it in one layer next time and add a generous dollop of whipped cream when plated. One other thing, I added about a tablespoon of sugar and about 3 tablespoons of rum to the cream while whipping. This added a little more dimension to the whipped cream. Thanks for this recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JAMMOBUN
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Taste is great! Not too sweet and full of flavour. Next time though, I would definitely cut back on baking time. Mine was in for 60 mins, and it came out a little to dry for my liking. As with most other reviewers, the egg yolk and hazelnut mix was super think and gunky! Next time, I would probably mix 1/2 the nuts into the egg yolks and fold the rest into the egg whites to retain more air in my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMMOBUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out very good. I needed something to make for a coworker with celiac disease and tried this out as a test run. The cake was moist and tasty, too. I may be biased a bit since my mother is German and I've had cakes like this many times. I'm going to try this with a butter cream frosting (using vanilla pudding made from cornstarch) and I hope the cake will be as successful as the test run! Tips: Fold (don't stir) egg whites in gently. I didn't have any fancy tools. I used the flat spoon that came with my rice cooker. Also, don't over bake. I use a convection oven which likes to dry things out. Start checking the cake 5-10 minutes early given the long baking time. Remember - this is a European-style cake. It's not overly sweet and different in texture from a box cake. Still, it turned out to be a very nice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Absolutely delicous and easy to make! Tastes exactly like Ferraro Rocher chocolates! Add a touch of Baileys to the cream before whipping it for a great subtle and sweet flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States