Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
My husband was born in Germany. He loved it. After reading other reviews my changes r. Make the day before serving. Tastes so much better after overnight refridgeration. I used Bob's Redhill Hazelnut Flour/Meal ($12 for 14oz) instead of grinding my own. Baked in 320 not 325 degrees for about 45 mins. Started checking for springyness when touched at 35mins or so. Sifted pretty much the whole bag to get 3 cups of the finest grind/flakes. Worth it! Used 6 yolks (3 xtra lg and 3 lrg Egglands Best) & one lg whole egg in batter. add 1/2-1oz Frangellico adds flavor depth. Combined yolks and sugar with hand mixer for at least 3 minutes. I find that helps in not getting the egg-y taste as others have commented on. Do not beat the egg whites before making the batter. Too far ahead so they deflated when ready to add to batter. I used a 9inch Springform pan and it raised just shy of 3 inches tall. I let it rest and cool on rack for 10 mins, then as another reviewer recommeneded, I wraped the entire rack, pan with cake inside with foil for 2 hours. I think that's why it was so moist the next day. After the 2 hours I did not use the whip cream topping. I found a Nutella Mousse recipe that was pretty good (8oz Nutella, 4oz of cream cheese or mascapone). I spread that on and put it in the fridge overnight. Comments about it being too nutty/mealy tasting I think most if not all issues are gone with the overnight cooling. Next time I'll bake in an 8in springform for making 3 layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Hi, i am The Lead Cake designer at cake2you.com, we operate out of gurgaon, india, i had made this recipe for one of our very loyal customer, it was his wife’s birthday and he needed something special so we made this Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut cake for him in heart shape. those guys loved it. thank you for putting this online. thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I love this cake! I have made it many times, both with homemade hazelnut flour and homemade almond flour. Like another reviewer said, I do sift my nut flour through a strainer to make sure that it is fine enough. I also substitute sugar with half the amount of honey since I generally don't eat sugar. I doubt that I could find a better cake recipe for someone on a low-carb gluten-free diet - no sense of deprivation here - anyone would like this cake! My girlfriend made this cake and it turned out horrible for her (flat and dense). I was really surprised. It turned out that she used store-bought nut flour instead of homemade nut flour. I suggested that she use homemade nut flour, and then this recipe turned out fine for her too. I am surprised at all the reviews stating that the cake is dry. I am guessing that this may be related to the size of the eggs used to make the cake, or possibly the difference between using raw nuts and roasted nuts to make the nut flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I am recently gluten free due to health issues, ran across this recipe almost by accident. Made it for the first time today, using almond flour, since I already had it available. I did add an additional whole egg to the batter to thin it a bit before adding the whites. I baked at 320 degrees for 47 minutes ~ light brown on top and springs back when touched. I found this cake to be light and fluffy. I know others have complained that it was too dense, however, I think if you are an experienced baker, you can have it turn out light and fluffy. I made a chocolate ganache to go between the layers, but not sure I would choose that again. Seemed a bit overpowering for the delicate flavor of the cake. All in all ~ a great outcome for my very first gluten free cake! I got tired of baking things I can't eat anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made this cake exactly as recipe described. Cake texture was dry and tasted slightly bitter. I cooked it for exactly 60 minutes at 325 degrees. I used Raw hazelnuts (fresh) in food processor. I even tasted the nuts before I used them and they tasted very good. This cake needs something to make it moist. This cake as described in recipe will turn out very dry. I suggest you use some liquor to make it more moist. I trusted the star ratings of the recipe and did not read many reviews (just 2). Many reviewers suggest that it is a dry cake and some bake it for 40 min (major difference between 40 and 60-75 min). I wish someone with a good modified recipe would submit it so people like me can get a good Hazelnut cake recipe. Cheeers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashmarkt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I read all the reviews and tried it. I ground about 1 lb of hazelnuts, after roasting and peeling the skins off. The ground hazelnuts came to about three cups (ground). I then use "large" eggs, but chose 6 of the largest in my dozen for my eggs to separate. Once I whisked the six yolks in sugar (to a light yellow color), I, in a separate bowl and beaters, whisked up the 6 egg whites, until they formed peaks. I then put one whole egg in my hazelnut, egg yolk mixture, and beat those together. Adding the whole egg loosened up the hazelnut mixture. I folded in the eggs whites with no trouble, at all. I used a spring form pan, greased and floured. Baked at 325, for 40 minutes. I immediately removed baked cake from pan and let it rest on a rack for about 10 minutes, but then wrapped both the rack and the cake in foil, to capture any steam produced and keep the cake moist. It came out VERY moist and rose to almost 2 inches, enough to get three layers out of it. I iced it with whipped cream that I whipped until almost butter (just until it starts to clump-you have to watch this closely). It creates a sturdy whipped cream without having to make a cream cheese whipped cream. Hope this helps! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
We had this at a friends and had to have more! The only solution was to make it myself. It turned out fantastic! Shared it with more friends tonight, they loved it too. Light, moist, delicious...almost healthy enough for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
First time that i have baked a recipe suitable for someone who is gluten free.i must say it is a winner, it is an extremely moist cake and delicious. I have only cut it into 2, and added some tinned peaches in the middle. Must try....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nims
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I loved the recipe. Instead of grinding my own hazelnuts, I got hazelnut flower which is still a little granular but easier and cheaper than buying and grinding. And I was able to get 2 layers due to the density. But I loved it!! Being gluten sensitive this is a plus+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
good and reminiscent of my latvian grandmothers cake, a touch dry but fixed that up with a little frangelico liquor on top. Found it to have almost too much hazelnuts when mixing but still fantastic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States