Hungarian Coconut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I made this recipe a couple of times and we are very satisfied with the result. The balls really tastes like the coconut balls in Hungary (we are from Budapest, so we know) and it is easy and quick to make. In Hungary they make these balls from crashed biscuit and sour cherry, but the mashed potatoes and the lemon soaked raisins taste exactly the same. Unbelievable! I used vanilla extract instead of rum, so my 1 year old boy could also enjoy. The other alteration I made to this recipe (to fit our taste better) is that I soaked the raisins longer in lemon+vanilla (2 hours) and drained them before adding to the potato mix. Thus I left lemon juice out of the mixture (added 1/3 less sugar at the same time) which helped to keep a more solid consistency and resulted in a more coherent sweet taste. (The original recipe yields a bit "piquant" coconut balls as they are a bit sour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I have prepared these a couple of times according to this recipe for my Hungarian boyfriend. He loves them and says that they taste just like the ones he ate at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have made a very similar candy. If you are having trouble with the consistancy of the candy you must use "plain" mashed potatoes. Try to use a baked potato from the microwave and mash it until lump free. Do not add any moisture to the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dulifooli
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I am hungarian and we made this ball with a special biscuit called Háztartási Keksz. It needed to grind first, or you can buy grinded biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulifooli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Came out very wet, not a dough but can form them and roll them in dry coconut or cocoa and refrigerate them. Seems like this needs way more confectioners sugar or some other dry ingredient or very dry mash potatoes. Taste very good. Used real rum called Cocoribe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I tried this recipe, followed it exactly, but had bad results. The mixture turned out very thin and I wasn't able to form them into balls. I really would like to try this again, but I fear I will have the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I found this too wet as written. No where near able to make balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I think the previous reviewer was right. Soak the raisins for a while (I did mine overnight) then scoop them into the mix and toss the rest of the liquid. I didn't strain them, just scooped them in. I reserved the remaining liquid in case I needed it, but the consistancy seemed right without the couple spoon fulls of liquid that I didn't use. They were fantastic when done, just like I had in Hungary when I went to visit my family. Kosonom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States