Hunan-Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
'Omitted the peppercorns & the hot bean sauce. This reminded me of good mall food. I do mean that as a compliment. It's good, but it tastes easy - which it is. I used 1/2t crushed red pepper & it was mild heat, maybe too much for those that are sensitive. 'Glad I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I took a taste before adding the bean sauce mix. I preferred it much better than the finished chicken. Ill try it again with some variation on cooking technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I baked some chicken thighs yesterday, coated in egg/flour poultry seasoning. I decided to cut them up, and do his recipe. It was delicious! I will definitely do tis a lot. Really great! I was afraid it might be TOO spicy, but it was wonderful. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
RE: Chrismith This recipe was edited before they put it on the site. They missed out preparing the the peppercorns. Try toasting them in a dry pan for a minute or so. They'll start to pop around in the pan. Then grind them in a pestle and mortar. It really brings out the flavour of the peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is delicious. I would recommend leaving out the peppercorns though as they are too strong when you bite down on them. When making it a second time I replaced it with about a third of a teaspoon ground black pepper. I also left out the salt as soy sauce is salty enough. This was quick and easy, I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
loved this receipe, one rater said they had no black vinegar, it doesn't call for this, it calls for rice vinegar, in case this helps the other rater, thanx dan will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This came together really fast which is nice. We like spicy and I thought this would be spicer than it was. I served this Jasmine rice and some stir fried veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is one of the yummiest Chinese dish I have had from here!! Thank you so much for a great tasting recipe. I doubled the recipe and used Szechuan peppercorns instead because we enjoy them more than regular peppercorns in Chinese food. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
We thought this was really yum Dan! I used lite soy sauce and because I didn't have black vinegar, I used rice vinegar instead. This is a keeper and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States