Hunan-Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Made this tonight & didn't have all ingredients. Normally I like to go with exactly as written 1st time but needed to use up boneless, skinless chicken thighs & this family is discount & dollar store style. Didn't have peppercorns, used table pepper, omitted salt, sherry, rice vinegar & sesame oil, subbed apple cider vinegar & yellow onion, added 2 TBS Brown Sugar, extra honey, red pepper flakes & a bit of pineapple juice & pineapple, Asian chili sauce & teriyaki. I think this would be 5 stars with ingredients as listed coz I definitely would've given 4.5 stars. Fairly easy to make, for my 1st time I got all ingredients together ahead of time for ease of cooking. I had to make 2 batches coz I had 12 thighs. Served with leftover mashed potato cakes from this site using bacon & onion & cheese in the mix & when done, added a dollop of sour cream. Put everything on baking sheet & stuck in 350 oven while I thickened sauce left in pan with flour/water mix & used that as sauce over all meat. An Asian chef friend of mine told me the key to a good sticky sauce is adding a bit of honey over the meat before adding the sauce & I feel the added time in oven solidified the stickiness/goodness. DELICIOUS. Thank you for the recipe & I find that it can be modified easily using on hand ingredients. The best thing besides flavor/taste, there were no leftovers & I'd used leftover food from 2 days ago to make the whole meal. Cost & time effective!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Candi Reeves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
The kids actually liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Mine was really tasty but did not look like the picture. I was expecting a different taste. Family did enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
'Omitted the peppercorns & the hot bean sauce. This reminded me of good mall food. I do mean that as a compliment. It's good, but it tastes easy - which it is. I used 1/2t crushed red pepper & it was mild heat, maybe too much for those that are sensitive. 'Glad I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I took a taste before adding the bean sauce mix. I preferred it much better than the finished chicken. Ill try it again with some variation on cooking technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I baked some chicken thighs yesterday, coated in egg/flour poultry seasoning. I decided to cut them up, and do his recipe. It was delicious! I will definitely do tis a lot. Really great! I was afraid it might be TOO spicy, but it was wonderful. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
RE: Chrismith This recipe was edited before they put it on the site. They missed out preparing the the peppercorns. Try toasting them in a dry pan for a minute or so. They'll start to pop around in the pan. Then grind them in a pestle and mortar. It really brings out the flavour of the peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is delicious. I would recommend leaving out the peppercorns though as they are too strong when you bite down on them. When making it a second time I replaced it with about a third of a teaspoon ground black pepper. I also left out the salt as soy sauce is salty enough. This was quick and easy, I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
loved this receipe, one rater said they had no black vinegar, it doesn't call for this, it calls for rice vinegar, in case this helps the other rater, thanx dan will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States