Hunan Kung Pao Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Spicy! But tasty. Cut down on the dried chili peppers if you don't want it too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Tastes a lot like the kung pao chicken recipe, but easier. I used regular white wine instead of rice wine and used all shrimp. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Better than take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Wonderful recipe, very true to form. Very easy and tastes just like the Kung Pao you'd find at a good Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I only rate after making a recipe to the T per the instructions of the submitter. I gave it 5 stars as is, and the only adjustments I would make are to cut back on the oil just a bit, and thicken the sauce with cornstarch mixed with water, so it coats the meal a bit more. This was delicious over some noodles tossed in sesame oil. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Best tasting Kung Pao I have had. Used 16 chinese red chiles and was just right. Hot but not overwhelming. Our friends loved it and went back for 2nds and 3rds. If you add the Szechuan peppercorns it will not seem so hot. I went by the recipe except for dark soy sauce which I have to order from Amazon along with the Szechuan peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
First, I definitely agree with others that 16 chili peppers is way over the top. I used 9 and my wife couldn't eat it. I actually like a lot of spice so was OK with it. Overall I thought the recipe was pretty good but the flavor wasn't that potent other than the chili. Maybe I did something off but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by senka
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
DELICIOUS! Used 5 tsps of Sambal in place of peppers & had perfect amount of heat... it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Great recipe!! Used some pepper garlic sauce uh n place of the other spicy peepers but still very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Really good...I made 2 changes, I used 1 Tbl chili paste in place of the chilis and didn't use the peppercorns...that made it excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States