Hummus IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
good recipe. I omitted the red pepper because it was for my daughter at college and she doesn't like it spicy. I kept the same amount of garlic but roasted it first. I also added a few drops of sesame oil. it came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug883

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Great! I hope you like garlic as I do! I added a 1/4 teaspoon of cumin and a couple of sprigs of parsley. Fantastic as a veggie dip or with pita bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
OMG! Who would've thought a little can of garbanzo beans could transform into something so delicous! It doesn't get easier or much simpler than this! I cut the recipe in half and put everything into a mini food processor, used a little sesame oil as I didn't have any tahini and just back just a bit on garlic. I also added in the reserved bean liquid as needed along with just a splash of lemon juice vs. the whole amount. I served it topped with a bit of paprika and surrounded by homemade pita chips - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Using canned beans, be sure to rub them together to remove the skins! Save the juice because the mixture gets very thick. It was too thick for the blender, better use the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is how I always make hummus, just add a little more of everything until it tastes right. It's a good base recipe to add to. I also add salt and pepper and sometimes olive oil. They have small cans of tehani (tahini) in the ethnic foods section at most grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Death by Garlic: I strongly feel that the absolute max ratio of garlic cloves to (15oz) cans of garbanzos is 2:1. So, maximum 2 large garlic cloves to 1 can of 15oz beans. Even as a garlic lover, I only use 2 small or 1 large clove per can. This had so much garlic bite that it almost made me nauseous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I just made this and it was very good! For those of you who don't have tahini, I didn't have any so I left that out and it still tastes like hummus to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a really good base for hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I couldn't find my recipe so I tried this one n it was awesome, my kids loved it n said it was better than the old recipe so thanks for sharing it and my family loves garlic so it was perfect only thing I did different was add some green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Dang good and real easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeofWyoming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States