Hummus IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Very easy. I bit too much garlic for my taste. Perhaps 3 is enough. Also, I used the liquid from the beans to smooth out the spread instead of more lemon juice. I also top with parsley and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Very good! I am picky about my hummus, and this is finally one I LOVE. I added a few dashes of hot sauce for kick, and some reserved bean juice. But it was just adding to the perfection of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
OMG! Who would've thought a little can of garbanzo beans could transform into something so delicous! It doesn't get easier or much simpler than this! I cut the recipe in half and put everything into a mini food processor, used a little sesame oil as I didn't have any tahini and just back just a bit on garlic. I also added in the reserved bean liquid as needed along with just a splash of lemon juice vs. the whole amount. I served it topped with a bit of paprika and surrounded by homemade pita chips - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Very nice. As I didn't have tahini, I sauted 2T sesame seeds along with the garlic in about 2T olive oil before adding. I doubled the crushed red pepper, and threw in some roasted red peppers at the end which added a nice color. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
mmm.. i love hummus! i added more lemon though, for smoother consistency and because i like lemony hummus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Yeck- WAY too much garlic. Even the garlic-lovers wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
As written, deserves 1 star because have to add much more liquid - triple! I used 1 can & added 6 Tblsp. liquid! For 2 cans, that's equivalent to 3/4 cup liquid - some of that should be water, or it'll be VERY lemony. (I personally don't like using the liquid from canned beans bec. it's slimy.) Halving the quantity of garlic would probably suit most people; add full amount if you want it to be very garlicky. For adherence to traditionally authentic ingreds., this gets 4 stars. 2 is between 1 & 4, so 2 stars is what I rate it. (The red pepper flakes aren't traditional, though are a nice change from mild paprika. If using garbanzos cooked from dry, then adding some of that cooking water to achieve smooth puree is probably a good idea, I think.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Dang good and real easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeofWyoming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a really good base for hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I couldn't find my recipe so I tried this one n it was awesome, my kids loved it n said it was better than the old recipe so thanks for sharing it and my family loves garlic so it was perfect only thing I did different was add some green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States