Hummus IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Very easy. I bit too much garlic for my taste. Perhaps 3 is enough. Also, I used the liquid from the beans to smooth out the spread instead of more lemon juice. I also top with parsley and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
mmm.. i love hummus! i added more lemon though, for smoother consistency and because i like lemony hummus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Very good! I am picky about my hummus, and this is finally one I LOVE. I added a few dashes of hot sauce for kick, and some reserved bean juice. But it was just adding to the perfection of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Yeck- WAY too much garlic. Even the garlic-lovers wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
So yummy and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Very nice. As I didn't have tahini, I sauted 2T sesame seeds along with the garlic in about 2T olive oil before adding. I doubled the crushed red pepper, and threw in some roasted red peppers at the end which added a nice color. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I had trouble getting the right consistency. Using lemon juice as the only liquid makes the hummus too tart. I also thought this recipe was not as flavorful as other hummus I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
A very good basic hummus! I haven't tried any different add-ins yet but I will in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Meissner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I like this better than most commercially prepared hummus. I LOVE garlic and this has quite a zip with that much in it. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAFOUNT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I had to alter this one a lot to make it taste good. too much lemon (i added another can of beans whiched helped), i couldn't get the right texture-beans were chunky, could have been my food processor or my fault. I also added double the red pepper flakes and fresh parsley for taste. turned out tasty in my pita pocket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States