Hummus IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Easy to prepare and a great taste! I made a perfect batch on the first attempt. The texture is perfect and the garlic is strong just how I love it. Those who don't like a strong garlic taste can just reduce the cloves to taste. Thank you for the recipe. I have to thank my french classmate for pointing out this site. Merci buckets Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Ok. I like my hummus spicy and not too chunky. This came out dry and a bit flavorless (despite all the garlic!) . I'd add a bit of olive oil, or perhaps cook the garbanzo beans a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! The consistency was thick - as the recipe suggested it might be. I added the remainder of the lemon juice that my lemon produced and some of the fluid from the can - as other reviewers suggested. It all lent to a very flavorful hummus. I am using this as a dip for broccoli and carrots to try and increase my protein intake while eating healthy foods, as well. I foresee making this on a weekly basis - and I can add different things instead of the garlic (or in addition to) to change it up. As is, this is an ideal hummus, in my mind. Much better than anything purchased commercially!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
As written, deserves 1 star because have to add much more liquid - triple! I used 1 can & added 6 Tblsp. liquid! For 2 cans, that's equivalent to 3/4 cup liquid - some of that should be water, or it'll be VERY lemony. (I personally don't like using the liquid from canned beans bec. it's slimy.) Halving the quantity of garlic would probably suit most people; add full amount if you want it to be very garlicky. For adherence to traditionally authentic ingreds., this gets 4 stars. 2 is between 1 & 4, so 2 stars is what I rate it. (The red pepper flakes aren't traditional, though are a nice change from mild paprika. If using garbanzos cooked from dry, then adding some of that cooking water to achieve smooth puree is probably a good idea, I think.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Fresh and flavorful - so much better than store bought hummus! I doubled the recipe and it was gone in one day. I especially like the garlic and lemon in this recipe. I served it with cut up whole wheat pita triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
It really didn't work out for me- too dry. I had to add way more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I had to alter this one a lot to make it taste good. too much lemon (i added another can of beans whiched helped), i couldn't get the right texture-beans were chunky, could have been my food processor or my fault. I also added double the red pepper flakes and fresh parsley for taste. turned out tasty in my pita pocket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I like this better than most commercially prepared hummus. I LOVE garlic and this has quite a zip with that much in it. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAFOUNT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
A very good basic hummus! I haven't tried any different add-ins yet but I will in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Meissner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I had trouble getting the right consistency. Using lemon juice as the only liquid makes the hummus too tart. I also thought this recipe was not as flavorful as other hummus I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States