Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ruffinit
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
So rich and creamy! As others said, the Garbanzo juice is essential in smoothing out (or water). Far better and cheaper than buying pre-made/restaurant versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
We love this! I only drain 1/2 the water off the garbanzos, and only use about 1 Tbs. lemon juice. Wiz in my NutriBullet till smooth. Easy and perfect for our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Very easy basic recipe for hummus. Great for adapting to your own tastes. Tried halving the tahini at first, but then I found that it was too lemony, and the tahini cuts that perfectly. Still, used 3/4 of recommended amount. Added red bell pepper (1/2 a pepper minced) and tripled the garlic to get it where I wanted it. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is my first shot at making hummus. I've never really liked hummus because my mom used to buy the premade stuff in a plastic container and it never tasted very good. Then the other day I went to an Iranian restaurant with a friend and she wanted hummus so we ordered it. It was delicious and I couldn't get enough of it, so I decided to try and make my own. This was pretty good, but very dry. I ended up adding a lot of water (a full cup and a half) to get it to the consistency I liked, and it tasted a bit too lemony, but I just need to fine-tune it. All in all this is fantastic. Even my husband and kids liked it, so it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Better then anything you'll find in the store. Just make sure to use a food processor not a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
A little dry and thick for me. Added a bit of olive oil into the blender as well. Didn't de-shell the chickpeas but will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Next time I will decrease the salt, I find it salty for me. But other than that it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The taste is good. Next time I would not add as much salt as is called for. I don't use a lot of salt typically and the quantity specified in the recipe is a bit much for me. I think I'l also add either more tahini or more lemon juice to make the consistency a bit smoother and not quite as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Delicious. We used dry peas that we had soaked/boiled. They were dry even after preparing them so we had to add a bit of water since it was much too dry (canned chickpeas would have a much higher water content than our reconstituted dried had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Wonderful. I had to add water to get it to blend in my magic bullet but other than that it was a cinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States