Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Excellent hummis. Will be making this again for a Christmas party, it was requested by one of my good friends. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I love plain hummus, without all the extra flair, and this was it! A traditional, basic hummus! I did go old school and soak dried chickpeas for a day in some salted water, drained, and then brought to a boil in more salted water and left to simmer for about 3 hours. I personally, after the first batch, would drop the tahini to 1/4c and the lemon juice to about 1/8c, would add in some of the juice the chickpeas boiled in and as always, I added more garlic. Absolutly wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Have always enjoyed hummus but started making my own only a few years ago. I decided to make this recipe but found the hummus too thick for my taste. So since I had already discarded the liquid leftover in the chick pea can, I gradually added a 50-50 mixture of water & sesame seed oil to reach my desired consistency. Surprisingly, that tiny bit of sesame seed oil gave the hummus such a nice flavor that it created quite a stir at the buffet table that evening. Almost everyone who tasted it wanted to know what I had done differently. I don't know if all my guests liked this variation but I observed a handful of them coming back for seconds and even thirds. I had doubled the recipe and added 4 tbsp. water & 4 tbsp. sesame seed oil. So for a single batch, I would make that 2 tbsp. each of water & sesame seed oil. However, if you really like the thicker consistency you end up with, why not add the sesame seed oil only?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've got the hummus! I would recommend not going all in with everything. Try less of the tahini and lemon to start. For us, we used 2 CANS of garbonzos, and the 1/3c tahini and 1/4 lemon worked just fine. Went with 4 large garlic cloves though. Keep the garbanzo juice, and add a little at a time until smooth. Add in about 1 tablespoon olive oil while mixing along with a good pinch of cayenne for spice. To me, hummus needs roasted red pepper. I threw in one nice sized piece from the jar, and it gave it the flavor it needed and a nice color. The Texan in me craves hot, so I top with chopped jalapeno when serving. YUM! EDIT TO ADD: Look for packaged, uncooked Chapati bread. It takes about a minute to cook, and gives you fresh cooked flatbread to eat with this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Followed recipe exactly. Came out too thick. Makes a huge amount of Hummus. Had a nice flavor. Will keep looking for a better recipe or tweak this one by adding more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Simple, quick, and traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
The first time I tried to make this recipe, it flopped. But after a few times making it, I added a few personal preferences and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I will never buy hummus again! This recipe is so easy to make and delicious. I use about 5 cloves of garlic but everyone has their own taste! I also usually add a jar of roasted red peppers, which i like for 3 reasons: 1- the flavor, 2- the beautiful orange color it gives the hummus, and 3- if you put the red peppers at the bottom of the blender, they sort of liquefy and make blending the chick peas easier (I don't have a food processor). I also agree with other reviewers who said the recipe needs a little extra liquid; I add maybe a tablespoon or two from the peppers if I use them or from the chick peas if I don't. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is wonderful! I have been making it at least 3 times a week and just can't get enough! I could just sit down and eat the bowl with a spoon. Oh, and the gal at the health food store told me that it's good for me since it's PH balanced.....heh, always good to love something healthy! And I do use all organics.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I just made this recipe and had a difficult time finding the tahini, so I found a recipe to make my own and was so easy and quick. Whipped up this batch of hummus using my home made tahini and was delicious! Would just add more garlic next time. So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States