Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I come from a Lebanese family and there was always hummus around for snacks to eat with vegetables. I think this a wonderful recipe. I add a little olive oil to the mixture while I am making it. This is as good as my Lebanese Aunt Sally makes. Make as written and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
So yummy. My blender wasn't very good so it took a long time. I had to add some water to help with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is my go-to recipe for hummus! Tho I usually add more garlic, more lemon and include the cumin and red pepper. But many people don't realize that tahini is just toasted sesame seeds blended with olive oil and super easy to make yourself! I get my sesame seeds in the bulk food section really cheap, and make the tahini myself. Admittedly, I can be a lazy cook, so most the time I just toast my sesame seeds and throw them in the hummus as is and grind it up all together. If you want to take the time, you can roast the sesame seeds then grind them up with a little olive oil using a mortar and pestle or your blender and then add it to your hummus. Also, the more you toast your sesame seeds, the more bitter they become. So I only lightly toast them. And then I like to make what we call a Nagel Bagel! Toast a bagel, swipe a good amount of hummus on it, and top it off with slices of tomato, cucumber, and onion! My oh my, am I in seventh heaven with one of these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
The taste was sufficiently lemony, but the mixture was too thick to my taste. I would try to add more liquid, perhaps incorporate some oil rather than just drizzle it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Everyone loved this at my daughter's birthday party. Should have made a double batch! I followed the directions precisely EXCEPT I just used two cans of chickpeas and reserved the liquid to add some back in as it blended in my vitamix. Used about half of one of the cans of liquid - the new can of tahini was s little runnier than usual. Next time I may throw in an extra garlic clove depending on how big the cloves are. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klvb73
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I've made this several times now, it's a huge hit. you'll never buy pre packaged again. With my changes it's close to Beirut Restaurant's in Detroit. (http://beirutrestaurant.net/index.html) The only three adjustments. 1. Don't discard your juices from your beans, adding some of it will give you the right consistency. 2. I suggest is to cut back on your Tahini by half to start. Add a little more to adjust to taste. 3. Always use fresh lemons for your juice, it makes a total difference !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I've tried this recipe a couple of times and after following the recipe as written, I usually end up adding or increasing ingredients to perfect it. This is a good base however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is awesome recipe. When I don't have tahini, I use peanut butter, and it works too. It becomes a bit of peanut butter flavor, but that doesn't mean less delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
first time making hummus, we buy ours from a Lebanese/Mediterranean Restaurant nearby and this is just as good! made with 2tbsp tahini (sesame seed butter) and a little too much garlic, I went crazy but will roast some for my next batch so it's more mellow. this is going to be my go to! can't wait to try it with a handful of Kalamata olives, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCTHOMPSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very good ... Had to add more lemon juice due to the food processor. Will def use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States