Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
First time making hummus. I did find the original recipe a bit bland but I like spicier foods. I added 4 crushed garlic cloves, 1 tbs red pepper flakes, 1 tbs olive oil, 1 C juice from drained garbanzo bean cans, used two of these, 1 tsp smoked paprika, 1 tbs lemon juice, and 1 tsp ground cumin, and 3 tbs tahini paste. I love it. I think it will be better blending overnight, if there is any left that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Cedar Key, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Great basic recipe! This works well as a base from which you can add other ingredients to create your own special hummus to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This looks like a great, easy recipe. I was wondering about hummus with tamari (light soy sauce). Do you think Worcestershire sauce would work also? I'm thinking of making it and wonder if anyone tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
The texture seems a bit dry. Next time I'll try to add some oil to it, hopefully it will make it more moist and not as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Better late than never! I had never even tasted hummus before so I thought it was time to give this a shot and the thing I like most about this site are the reviews where you get intelligent feedback from other readers to help you tweak a recipe. I knew I would prefer roasted garlic over fresh and after a preliminary tasting, I added some crushed red pepper flakes. My beta hummus came out delicious. This will be my new default snack for a least a couple months. Next time I will add a smidgen of cumin and a modest sprinkling of roasted red pepper. When I grill some fish or chicken I will add roasted pine nuts to my hummus and serve it in place of rice or potatoes. Thanks for this great new addition to my culinary repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Has too much lemon juice for my tastes, but the final product, after tweaking, is really very good. The secret to the texture is to process for several minutes in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Added 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, and reserved chick pea juice until reached desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I followed the directions but mine came out so thick that the food processor couldn't even mix it. I had to keep adding evoo to it to at least get it blended. I was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
As written it's the best recipe that I've tried!!! I use to get this ar the restaraunt but now it seems fresher and taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I doubled the recipe, added one extra clove of garlic and some garlic salt and natures seasoning and it is hands down the best hummus I've ever had. Use fresh squeezed lemons and it really improves the flavor in all things! Thank you for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States