Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This one is going into my recipe book! I only gave it 4 stars though, because there was just too much tahini for our taste. We double the recipe for our family of 7, and keep the tahini at a third cup. (This also allows me to make 4 double-batches from one jar of tahini.) I also add a little water when it's too thick. I am never buying hummus again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
WoW! i never liked hummus before trying this recipe! i did add about 1/8 teasp. cayenne, and the same amount cumin. Also had no fresh garlic so I used 1/2 teasp. garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The salt can be halved and the oil eliminated. Vegetables can also be added to improve nutritional value, but this is really good hummus just plain, or with extra lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Our family really enjoyed this recipe. We may change it next time...maybe add a little bit of jalapeño and or cilantro. Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. I've been wanting to make hummus since my go to place makes it way to salty. This would taste like theirs if they had it right. I agree though that it is a basic recipe. I followed another reviewer's advice, and added cumin...1t seemed to be right. I also added cayenne for just a touch of heat. I still feel like it's missing something. I'll keep experimenting. I know that adding a bit of olive oil to the hummus while blending will improve the consistency, but 1T as the reviewer suggested doesn't seem like it will do much, and adding water seems to work fine. I can't wait to try the other alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I agree with the other reviews that you can kind of alter the amounts to your liking which is nice, but it is good as is. I'm only giving it four stars because while it's good, it didn't wow me. I think I'll prefer a hummus with more/different flavor like roasted red pepper hummus. It's next on my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I followed recommendations of others and did less tahini. I reserved chick pea liquid, which was needed for the right texture. Instead of just adding olive oil, I warmed it with minced garlic until golden. In another batch, I kicked up the heat by adding some jarred jalapeño slices to the food processor, plus cayenne, then infused the olive oil with some red Thai chilis. Both were a big success. This is a great base recipe to play with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
As many have said, a good starter recipe. I used 2 Tbsp tahini, a little more olive oil, no paprika, dried parsley flakes mixed in (instead of fresh as a garnish, 1 tsp cumin, a dash of black pepper, and an unmeasured amount of onion powder. Very yummy! But I really think the onion powder is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammy.carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is a pretty good recipe however, in my opinion this is too much sesame tahini and too little lemon juice. Sesame Tahini can be a bit bitter if its over used. I also put a bit more olive oil in mine. This is a great starter recipe for someone who hasn't made hummus before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a great starter recipe for some awesome hummus! I love garlic so I added a couple of extra freshly minced cloves. Fresh lemon juice is a must, as well as about 1 tsp of ground cumin and a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper. Like other reviewers, I used a bit less tahini and had to use some reserved juice from the garbanzo beans (about 4-6 TBLS) in order to get the right consistency. No need to buy hummus when you can make it as awesome as this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atbarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States