Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Brian
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've got the hummus! I would recommend not going all in with everything. Try less of the tahini and lemon to start. For us, we used 2 CANS of garbonzos, and the 1/3c tahini and 1/4 lemon worked just fine. Went with 4 large garlic cloves though. Keep the garbanzo juice, and add a little at a time until smooth. Add in about 1 tablespoon olive oil while mixing along with a good pinch of cayenne for spice. To me, hummus needs roasted red pepper. I threw in one nice sized piece from the jar, and it gave it the flavor it needed and a nice color. The Texan in me craves hot, so I top with chopped jalapeno when serving. YUM! EDIT TO ADD: Look for packaged, uncooked Chapati bread. It takes about a minute to cook, and gives you fresh cooked flatbread to eat with this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Followed recipe exactly. Came out too thick. Makes a huge amount of Hummus. Had a nice flavor. Will keep looking for a better recipe or tweak this one by adding more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Simple, quick, and traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
The first time I tried to make this recipe, it flopped. But after a few times making it, I added a few personal preferences and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I will never buy hummus again! This recipe is so easy to make and delicious. I use about 5 cloves of garlic but everyone has their own taste! I also usually add a jar of roasted red peppers, which i like for 3 reasons: 1- the flavor, 2- the beautiful orange color it gives the hummus, and 3- if you put the red peppers at the bottom of the blender, they sort of liquefy and make blending the chick peas easier (I don't have a food processor). I also agree with other reviewers who said the recipe needs a little extra liquid; I add maybe a tablespoon or two from the peppers if I use them or from the chick peas if I don't. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is wonderful! I have been making it at least 3 times a week and just can't get enough! I could just sit down and eat the bowl with a spoon. Oh, and the gal at the health food store told me that it's good for me since it's PH balanced.....heh, always good to love something healthy! And I do use all organics.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I just made this recipe and had a difficult time finding the tahini, so I found a recipe to make my own and was so easy and quick. Whipped up this batch of hummus using my home made tahini and was delicious! Would just add more garlic next time. So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
First time making hummus and it was oh-so-easy! Flavorful, great basic recipe. Agree with others that this is a great base but you will probably need to tweak to suit personal taste. I added in a bit more garlic, red pepper flakes and a sliver of smoked pimiento. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jheni77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
OMG!!! First hummus I've ever made and in fact taste. This was SOOOOOO GOOD!! I didn't use any oil at the end trying to cut some calories. My whole family couldn't stop eting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
easy. try different seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States