Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
The hummus was good maybe my mixer didn't smooth as well. I needed more something, maybe olive oil, lemon, or salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I tried this recipe, and you should NOT drain the chick peas! It was so thick that my blender could not blend... added water and it helped SO SO SO much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My daughter likes her hummus chunky so i used a potato masher. Also squeezed a whole lemon and one tablespoon of crushed red pepper. Had no idea this was so easy to make-so long store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
You definetly need a food processor for this recipe. I added more garlic. I will make again and experiment with roasted red peppers, jalepenos, etc. Good starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Instead of getting store-bought tahini, I toast 1 cup of sesame seeds in a dry frypan until they get a golden color (4-6 minutes), then add to a food processor with 1/3 cup olive oil and blend until smooth. I then add all the other ingredients to process and for a little extra zing I pulse in 1/3 cup roasted red peppers at the end. My recipe may not be culturally correct but it sure does taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is a great hummus recipe... my husband and I both loved it. I used it as a filling for vegan quesadillas, sprinkling a little nutritional yeast on top and serving with sliced avocados. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Excellent hummis. Will be making this again for a Christmas party, it was requested by one of my good friends. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I love plain hummus, without all the extra flair, and this was it! A traditional, basic hummus! I did go old school and soak dried chickpeas for a day in some salted water, drained, and then brought to a boil in more salted water and left to simmer for about 3 hours. I personally, after the first batch, would drop the tahini to 1/4c and the lemon juice to about 1/8c, would add in some of the juice the chickpeas boiled in and as always, I added more garlic. Absolutly wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Have always enjoyed hummus but started making my own only a few years ago. I decided to make this recipe but found the hummus too thick for my taste. So since I had already discarded the liquid leftover in the chick pea can, I gradually added a 50-50 mixture of water & sesame seed oil to reach my desired consistency. Surprisingly, that tiny bit of sesame seed oil gave the hummus such a nice flavor that it created quite a stir at the buffet table that evening. Almost everyone who tasted it wanted to know what I had done differently. I don't know if all my guests liked this variation but I observed a handful of them coming back for seconds and even thirds. I had doubled the recipe and added 4 tbsp. water & 4 tbsp. sesame seed oil. So for a single batch, I would make that 2 tbsp. each of water & sesame seed oil. However, if you really like the thicker consistency you end up with, why not add the sesame seed oil only?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've got the hummus! I would recommend not going all in with everything. Try less of the tahini and lemon to start. For us, we used 2 CANS of garbonzos, and the 1/3c tahini and 1/4 lemon worked just fine. Went with 4 large garlic cloves though. Keep the garbanzo juice, and add a little at a time until smooth. Add in about 1 tablespoon olive oil while mixing along with a good pinch of cayenne for spice. To me, hummus needs roasted red pepper. I threw in one nice sized piece from the jar, and it gave it the flavor it needed and a nice color. The Texan in me craves hot, so I top with chopped jalapeno when serving. YUM! EDIT TO ADD: Look for packaged, uncooked Chapati bread. It takes about a minute to cook, and gives you fresh cooked flatbread to eat with this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States