Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Just okay, used more garlic, boiled the garbanzos first (glad someone mentioned to do that), had to thin it out with the liquid from the can of beans. Sorry but I like the other recipe from this site better, its called Real Hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
loved it! I have always made my own hummus 'off the cuff' and with different types of beans as I didn't (think) I liked garbanzo beans. Well this recipe sure proved me wrong! I have made this for the Superbowl tomorrow but quite frankly, it tastes sooo good that i have a feeling I'll be making more tomorrow (before the guests arrive!) The garlic and lemon are RIGHT ON and I admit, I thought, what can parsley add --- oh, it adds a heck of a lot! MAKE THIS RECIPE! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Wolszon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
it was just okay... too much lemon or something... will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mason
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent excellent!!! Left out the parsley used the juice of one lemon. Garnished with olive oil, smoked paprika, olive salad, feta crumbles and kalamata olives. Will do this over and over and over.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
IT was really good. One tip I would suggest is leaving about half of the liquid in the garbanzo beans and adding maybe a teaspoon of olive oil and oregano in the blender while blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've added water and cooked the chickpeas myself, also added a bit of cumin and olive oil into the mixture, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
It was pretty tasty, but I added twice as much garlic and a good big splash more of lemon juice. I also thinned it down a bit with water. Tahini was strong so next time will knock that amount down a tad. Very close to my favorite store brand though. Yumm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Renee Saylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I think many will like it, but I thought it had too much tahini, it gave it a little too much bitterness- I thought it needed a bit more lemon, too. But it was good, people will tweak it to their liking! I also couldn't get it as smooth as I like, I may try peeling the skins off the chickpeas next time just to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Solvei
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
YUM! This was SO good!!! This New Years, my hubs and I decided to nosh on a couple snacks in lieu of making a special dinner as we usually do. I wanted something easy to prepare and this fit the bill perfectly! Following "The Head's" tips ensured an extra delicious end result. I found that 4 T of tahini, 3 large cloves of garlic, 1/2 t cumin / salt and a pinch of cayenne were spot on. I started with 1 oz. of fresh lemon juice as per "The Head's" suggestion and ended up squeezing the other half of my lemon into my hummus (I can't say exactly how much I used - prolly somewhere between the 1/4 c. called for and Head's suggested ounce worth). I also added 1 T of EVOO (garlic infused) to my hummus and drizzled another tablespoon on top. My only other change was to remove the outer hull from my garbanzos. I find that my hummus always has a creamier texture if I do this. NOTE: I too had to add a bit of liquid to achieve a dip-like consistency. I just kept adding reserved bean liquid until I reached the consistency I desired (approximately 1/4 - 1/2 c.). Garlic Parmesan pita chips and carrot sticks were perfect dunkers for this incredible dip! I absolutely love hummus and this didn't disappoint! Thanks for sharing your recipe, RC2STEP. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States