Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
YUM! This was SO good!!! This New Years, my hubs and I decided to nosh on a couple snacks in lieu of making a special dinner as we usually do. I wanted something easy to prepare and this fit the bill perfectly! Following "The Head's" tips ensured an extra delicious end result. I found that 4 T of tahini, 3 large cloves of garlic, 1/2 t cumin / salt and a pinch of cayenne were spot on. I started with 1 oz. of fresh lemon juice as per "The Head's" suggestion and ended up squeezing the other half of my lemon into my hummus (I can't say exactly how much I used - prolly somewhere between the 1/4 c. called for and Head's suggested ounce worth). I also added 1 T of EVOO (garlic infused) to my hummus and drizzled another tablespoon on top. My only other change was to remove the outer hull from my garbanzos. I find that my hummus always has a creamier texture if I do this. NOTE: I too had to add a bit of liquid to achieve a dip-like consistency. I just kept adding reserved bean liquid until I reached the consistency I desired (approximately 1/4 - 1/2 c.). Garlic Parmesan pita chips and carrot sticks were perfect dunkers for this incredible dip! I absolutely love hummus and this didn't disappoint! Thanks for sharing your recipe, RC2STEP. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Luv this recipe. I didn't have parsley, so I used dried basil. It was good. My family likes a lot of lemon and spice, so I used 1/2 a cup lemon and added 1-2 tsp of chile pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great dish! It was an instant hit. Next time I am going to add some additional flavoring like sundried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I make this recipe when I have guests over all the time and I always here how great it is and the bowl is left clean! I won't ever buy store brand. Its inexpensive to make from home (only thing that is pricey is the Tahini, but one can lasts 5 hummus) so definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This is such a simple but tasty and healthy recipe. My kids (triplets!) especially love it. I buy the tahini (the kind I buy at the grocery store) and have to stir it quite a while to get the oil well mixed. It's easy to double. I also adjust the amount of juice and salt according to taste. Sometimes I'll add more seasoning for the one son who likes it spicier, as the original recipe is pretty tame. I'll ask jalapeno (seeded) along with a hot sauce. It's easy and lasts only as long as the kids and I take to spread it on a variety of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
As others have noted, great basic recipe. Tweak it as you like, I used three 15 oz cans garbanzo, two heaping teaspoons of Chinese chile paste, tahini, lemon, olive oil, omitted parsley. Next time I will use canned chipotle peppers or canned jalapeno peppers as I like my hummus with kick. Cost co was selling hummus and it was so expensive. This cost about $2.00 for 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is the BEST hummus I've ever had....restaurants, see ya later! I'm a lemon fiend so I added extra juice when I was done but I just can't recommend this recipe highly enough! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe is the best I've found. I followed the advice of HESANTONE review and added the liquid from one can, more garlic and the red pepper flakes. I also added a couple tablespoons of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Excellent base. I followed the most helpful review and adjusted to taste. I also "pealed" the chickpeas before putting together. A little more work but this beats store bought by a mile! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
After making this recipe once, this time I used about 1/3 cup olive oil instead of what it calls for. Alot creamier and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States